We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citigate Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citigate Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citigate Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Save 20%
Ranked #75 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had booked this hotel before i had read some of the reviews.After reading some of the negative comments, i became rather concerned about what i had booked myself into,i was actually rather worried. However this was all laid to rest when i arrived at this hotel, i was welcomed by a nice guy at reception,whom checked in me really fast and gave me a map an showed me all the hot spots that melbourne had to offer.Entering my room was the real surprise....My room was excellent,clean,tidy, had exactly what i needed,every day my room was serviced,New Fresh towels,Toiletries were always stocked,Bed was always made an felt clean and fresh....I loved it, No complaints here....As for the view again,no complaints there !!Staff were always nice an welcoming, taking into consideration the godly hours i was coming back to the hotel from multiple nites of partying, the staff still managed to find the strength at 5am in the morning to Say good morning with a genuine smile....As for the location !!!!!!!! WOW.....if you want to be right in the heart of Melbourne, right by public transport,art galleries, yarra river,and waterfront dinning,THIS is The place........I will be returning to melbourne again in the nearer future,an will differnantly try to get a booking at this hotel.Awesum work Citigate....

Room Tip: I stayed in the 9th floor, very peaceful up there.NO Noise.Great for a Hangover !!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    373
    161
    57
    31
See reviews for
99
288
73
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The first thing I noticed about this hotel was the strong deodoriser smell in the lobby.
Perhaps this is the reason why the lobby restaurant and bar area was empty most of this evening even with Free Wifi available. Hope this smell is temporary as I'm here for another night.
My room has no view but the room is clean and everything (tv, plumbing and general room fit-out)is in ok condition.
Location is great - it is opposite Flinders st station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for your comments. The lobby restaurant is currently only open for breakfast. Hotel guests are more than welcome to order off the room service menu and enjoy their meal in the restaurant if they prefer. The fragrance in the hotel lobby is exclusive to Citigate Melbourne and one that we love. Sorry to hear that it was not to your liking.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel so that you can enjoy our great location once again!

Kristian
0403504551
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Arrived her at 6am Sunday morning from the uk to find the reception staff very helpful indeed. Our room naturally wasn't ready, but were offered facilities to shower and change and to leave our bags securely until our rom was ready. The room was comfortable and clean and the location was very central. Good choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were booked into Citigate as part of a package deal, The location was very good except that the hotel transfer shuttle from the Airport bus service stops a block or so away from the Citigate to avoid some intersection. It goes to most other hotels. In our case we were lucky - it was quite late and there was no traffic and we were the only ones left on the shuttle and the helpful driver detoured slightly and dropped us (and all our baggage!) right at the hotel door.

The hotel was fine and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was fairly standard except it had no window, just a piece of frosted glass with curtains to look like a window. This was the first hotel room without a window we'd ever seen. This felt a little bit weird and slightly claustrophobic. It did however mean that we weren't bothered by street noise.

We had a couple of calls to make and used a cell phone for one International call but figured we'd use the in room hotel phone for a local one without checking the price, it having been cheaper in other hotels to use the in room phone than a cell phone with international roaming charges. However on checking out we found that the nine minute call to a local Melbourne number cost A$34, which is lot more than our NZ based cellphone would have cost us to make the same call with roaming charges and much more than I would ever have expected. We were told that the prices for the phone were available via the TV. How much research and checking is necessary to make a short local call? More than we did, apparently. It was a shame to leave on that note, being irritated at them for the ludicrous rates, and ourselves for not having checked first.

I think we'd be happy to stay again, though might try to get a room with a window, and of course wouldn't use the phone.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no window at all; avoid these if you're claustrophobic. Don't use the in ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Jacqui and Nick, thank you for your feedback on Citigate Melbourne, we love to hear from our valued guests. We do have some limitations with the building on one of the floors having no windows, however the designers have cleverly come up with a light box solution. All of us at the hotel look forward to your next trip across the Tasman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Could see the construction others are complaining about but it didn't cause us any bother - must have been on the other side of the hotel. The hotel itself is pretty standard - reasonably sized room, shower over bath. No complaints about cleanliness. Wifi only free in the lobby which is a bit annoying - meant we didn't really use it. The absolute best thing about this hotel is the location. We walked everywhere, even up to the markets (a bit of a trek, not too bad). Easy walk to Bourke St for shopping, Chinatown for eating, right next to Degraves St for fantastic breakfasts. Southbank also just across the river, easy walk. Across the rd from Flinders St Station if you need transport. We were there to watch Liverpool and walking to MCG was easy.
We took the skybus from the airport to Southern Cross Station and then walked to the hotel rather than taking the shuttle - probably 20 min fast walk. Shuttle is free though if you have lots of bags etc.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback Megs! We aim to deliver a product that meets all of our guests expectations. Stay tuned for WiFi in the rooms as we are looking into this for the new year. See you next time at Citigate Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I booked knowing there was free wifi. How wrong could I get.i asked for a room with a view n got a brick wall.
Great location though. Great little shops and cafe's
Not impressed with the wifi situation

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Citigate Melbourne, as our location is in the heart of the CBD, it makes us accessible and central to all areas of Melbourne, however does not allow for expansive views due to our surrounds. WiFi is available free of charge in the lobby and is being looked into for the property for the new year. We do hope you choose Citigate Melbourne upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citigate Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citigate Melbourne

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citigate Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citigate Melbourne offers contemporary accommodation positioned opposite Flinders Street Station. The hotel is close to all the major sporting, fashion, entertainment and dining precincts within Melbourne. Citigate Melbourne features contemporary guest rooms with many offering breathtaking views of the Yarra River and Southbank. Guests can also enjoy a casual drink or meal in the relaxed environment of the Lobby Bar, keep healthy in the gymnasium, or surf the internet with free WiFi in the lobby and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Citigate Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citigate Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.