We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citigate Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citigate Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citigate Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Save 20%
Ranked #74 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Top location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Could see the construction others are complaining about but it didn't cause us any bother - must have been on the other side of the hotel. The hotel itself is pretty standard - reasonably sized room, shower over bath. No complaints about cleanliness. Wifi only free in the lobby which is a bit annoying - meant we didn't really use it. The absolute best thing about this hotel is the location. We walked everywhere, even up to the markets (a bit of a trek, not too bad). Easy walk to Bourke St for shopping, Chinatown for eating, right next to Degraves St for fantastic breakfasts. Southbank also just across the river, easy walk. Across the rd from Flinders St Station if you need transport. We were there to watch Liverpool and walking to MCG was easy.
We took the skybus from the airport to Southern Cross Station and then walked to the hotel rather than taking the shuttle - probably 20 min fast walk. Shuttle is free though if you have lots of bags etc.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback Megs! We aim to deliver a product that meets all of our guests expectations. Stay tuned for WiFi in the rooms as we are looking into this for the new year. See you next time at Citigate Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    380
    166
    58
    31
See reviews for
103
293
74
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I booked knowing there was free wifi. How wrong could I get.i asked for a room with a view n got a brick wall.
Great location though. Great little shops and cafe's
Not impressed with the wifi situation

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Citigate Melbourne, as our location is in the heart of the CBD, it makes us accessible and central to all areas of Melbourne, however does not allow for expansive views due to our surrounds. WiFi is available free of charge in the lobby and is being looked into for the property for the new year. We do hope you choose Citigate Melbourne upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Location of hotel was just what we needed and central for all we wanted to do.
The room was disappointing, having been rated 4 stars, I seem to miss how this could be as I have stayed in better 3 star hotels across the world.
House keeping was mediocre and could be better i.e. needing to ask for supplies of tea bags and milk at the reception, as these were not replaced.
Sheets unchanged even through they did need to be! And the lack of toiletries is unforgivable.
The only consolation was the guys behind the reception, who were friendly and helpful when requests made.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Lynne, we sincerely value all of the feedback we receive from guests, past and present. Thank you for your comments on the attentive and friendly nature of our staff and we will be working with housekeeping to resolve the issues you have presented in your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I paid $178 for a city view room because the last time I stayed my room was on the coles side and I hardly slept from the truck deliveries all night. This stay was better although I would expect more for $178. The bar fridge was leaking. The Television keeps switching off after a period (seems to be on a timer). This was quite annoying. The room was fine but I wouldnt rave about it or stay there for non work purposes. The room service was ok. Dinner was fine.It is ok for one night if you can get it at a better rate than i did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments and feedback. We understand the importance of value for money and deliver the services and amenities for a central CBD hotel. We have since followed up and serviced the problem with the refrigerator and the televisions run on timers as an addition to our environmental commitments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My daughter and I had the same issue with building noise from the construction next door . On the 21.07.2013 we had noise all night. especially about 4am , I was unable to get any sleep . We were there for 3 night stay and i do like the location but the staff would have been aware of this noise and should have put us in rooms away from this construction. I did provide them feedback and I was not pleased with their response as they stated that they would check with council re noise levels.
I am going to contact Melbourne council myself to see whether the construction site had a exemption for that weekend, which means the staff would have been aware and I will take this further as I a guest a deserve to be treated with some respect

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On arrival it was obvious that there was a building site next door. We stayed with another couple, booking 2 rooms for 4 nights. Each night we were woken by building noises or other noise from behind the hotel, even at 4am Sunday morning. If there is noise interruption, perhaps that should be stated on the hotel page! Wouldn't stay there again and it is disappointing as the rooms and location were good otherwise. Looking for another site for our impending return to Melbourne. Even more disappointing as we have paid for Accor Membership!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Located directly opposite Flinders street station and easy walking distance to everything you could want including Federation Square, Flinders Lane cafes and shops and just the CBD in general.

The rooms were cold, uninviting and generally felt a little grubby. This feeling was not helped by finding a cockroach in my bathroom and realising the bath gel had been already half used. The bath/shower also flooded the bathroom and caused for a very slippery exit.

The dinner food was actually really delicious, I had the Salmon Teriyaki and my travel partner the eye fillet. However with so many great restaurants around you, this should only be a last minute option. Breakfast was well overpriced for the quality.

There is no parking on site, you need to trek with your luggage a good 10mins to the car park & it's expensive.

Overall, if you can find another hotel in this same area I would use it, but if its location only you want, you may wish to turn a blind eye and stay at Citigate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristian L, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review on your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments onto our executive team to be reviewed. We hope to be provided with another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citigate Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citigate Melbourne

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citigate Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citigate Melbourne offers contemporary accommodation positioned opposite Flinders Street Station. The hotel is close to all the major sporting, fashion, entertainment and dining precincts within Melbourne. Citigate Melbourne features contemporary guest rooms with many offering breathtaking views of the Yarra River and Southbank. Guests can also enjoy a casual drink or meal in the relaxed environment of the Lobby Bar, keep healthy in the gymnasium, or surf the internet with free WiFi in the lobby and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Citigate Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citigate Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.