We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE WILL BE BACK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citigate Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Citigate Melbourne to your Saves list
Citigate Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
A TripAdvisor Member
“WE WILL BE BACK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Awesome location, handy to everything. Right on the tram line, across from Flinders Street station and walking distance to everything. Nice and quiet. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
The team at Citigate Melbourne look forward to you coming back! It is great to hear that the location suits your needs, but most importantly the level of comfort surpassed your needs. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    403
    173
    59
    32
See reviews for
108
306
78
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a great stay here. Even though we were on Flinders st, no traffic noise. Romms were spacious, but understandably looked into other buildings. Breakfast was fantastic and the concierge couldn't have been more helpful. Would stay here again and would definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Rosie, thank you for your kind words and feedback - we are very proud of our hotel staff here at Citigate Melbourne and pride ourselves on service and offering. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hi, we found the hotel a welcome bed after a night out in Melbourne, however we would have loved more than 2 cups of coffee/tea....the teabags and coffee seemed old too.

However, the service was very good. I booked a twin room but when we arrived it was a double, the staff arranged a new room and twin beds no problems at all. Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that the hotel made you feel welcome. In relation to the Coffee/Tea making facilities, we would be happy to re-stock these at any time with our 24 hour service staff. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at the Citigate Hotel for one night with my wife and that was one night to many, it might be close to all the amenities this area of Melbourne has to offer but by no means was this a great or even good hotel, the staff in the lobby were more interested in offering you upgrades at a price than actually listening to what I had to say, the room was small and very out dated with no view just a piece of frosted glass which I guess faced the wall of the building next door so no natural light, there was constant noise coming from the building next door too as there are renovations going on, not so bad during the day as we were out but to be woken up by jack hammers at 7am the following was just ridiculous, we had no warning from the staff that there was any work going on next door, nor did we get any apologies for the early wake up call that we didn't want, in all I wouldn't recommend going to this hotel while all the work next door is going on unless you need to be up early.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Sean, I am disappointed to hear that you did not have the most enjoyable experience at the hotel and in relation to the construction going on in the area, we are working very closely with the project team to ensure we keep guest disruption to a minimum as it is a very short term project. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmhaven, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here for three nights as part of a Melbourne long weekend getaway. Nice lobby and good chicken staff, rooms okay. Quite roomy, a little dated I guess but above average I would say. But for location, outstanding. Right near tramlines, train station, short walk to Southbank and the crown complex, and very close to quality eating options and pubs.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get view over Flinders Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Henry, glad to hear you were able to get away for the long weekend and you were welcomed accordingly by our reception team. Like many of our guests mention, you just can not beat our location an I am glad this suited your needs. Thank you for choosing Citigate Melbourne and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Last week I stayed in the Citigate on Flinders Street for the first time. I was impressed at how good the check-in and check-out service was. The room was great and I could not fault it. But best of all was the location, right across the road from Flinders Street Startion so therefore a stones throw to Fed Square and a super easy walk to the bars and restaurants along the river. I would not hesitate in recommending a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We host many guests from Adelaide and surrounds and wanted to thank you for your comments. Glad to hear that our emphasis on training our staff is showing through at the reception desk and that we are able to offer you such a central location to the Melbourne CBD and all attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for five nights
It is ideally located opposite Flinders St Station, with Melbourne's famous lane ways, arts centre, shopping district, Federation Square and restaurants only a short stroll away.
The rooms are a good size, with my only issue being that there is no light switch located near the bed and no bed reading light - most unusual for a hotel room.
I didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food - the food and coffee in the lane way around the corner is too good to worry about eating at the hotel!
This is a good value for money hotel. It's just a pity that the reception staff are so unfriendly. In fact, this is the most unfriendly hotel that I have ever stayed in - the staff just don't want to be there, and Accor management really do need to address this issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin J, Director of Sales at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Greetings from the team at Citigate Melbourne! I would like to take the time to thank you for you feedback in regards to the the property and location as we too find it extremely central to all facets of the Melbourne CBD. Thank you also for your feedback regarding service standards, I have personally had discussions with our reception team to ensure we are continually giving the best possible service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citigate Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citigate Melbourne

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citigate Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citigate Melbourne offers contemporary accommodation positioned opposite Flinders Street Station. The hotel is close to all the major sporting, fashion, entertainment and dining precincts within Melbourne. Citigate Melbourne features contemporary guest rooms with many offering breathtaking views of the Yarra River and Southbank. Guests can also enjoy a casual drink or meal in the relaxed environment of the Lobby Bar, keep healthy in the gymnasium, or surf the internet with free WiFi in the lobby and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citigate Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citigate Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.