We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Citigate Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citigate Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citigate Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citigate Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
“Citigate Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Centraly located close to transport, cafe, restaurants and most importantly, shopping. The staff at this hotel could not do enough for us and made our stay a great experience. They knew where to go; how to get there and overall were a great source of local infomation. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    369
    161
    58
    32
See reviews for
98
283
73
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Extremely happy, the room was very clean and well looked after. the location was close to CBD, close to trams trains and other facilities.
The staff were helpful with any problems or questions we had, they even carried our luggage to the taxi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Citigate in Melbourne is a well appointed hotel right opposite Flinders street station, perfect for business stays or short breaks. Do ask for a room with a view! Unfortunately the room I was in, although clean, was dark and dingy, the window looked out onto a wall, very depressing. Having pre-booked breakfast at $20 good value, but the ‘cafe’ is very much help yourself, and impersonal

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I'd have liked to been able to check in earlier, but calling through to the hotel took what felt like forever on hold so I had no opportunity to organise it. However I was able to drop my luggage off in the morning and have someone phone when my room was ready. Convenient location across from Flinders Station, which made walking to the conference easy, and there are some great cafes in Degraves St right next to the hotel. The room I stayed in was quiet despite it's location.

Was really a comfortable stay; I can't say I was blown away by the standard, but I wasn't unimpressed either, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

i stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.before booking i did lots of research about the hotel & I decided to pay for the city view room before reservation.I informed hotel through e-mail in advance about early check in and high floor room with city view but when i reached hotel at 10 am in morning,i came to know that check in will not be possible before 2pm.
Then came the next shocker,reception guy told me that rooms are not available on high floor so they gave me room on 2nd floor.Next day they gave me room on 8th floor(8002).the view from the room was great.i could see the flinder street station and melbourne sky line from that.
The down part was that even water bottle was not provided in the room,when i asked then i was told that it is chargeable.
The business center and the Gym was ok .
overall this hotel has good location!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: take room with city view on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I selected this hotel on location after searching through the Entertainment Book. The rate offered was well below Wotif. Our room on the 10th floor had a view of surrounding buildings, was clean and well appointed. The staff were very professional and handled our baggage due to early check-in (Thrifty - Public Holiday required cars to be returned before 12 noon) and late check out for flights. Our room was spacious, the King size bed was comfortable, the Samsung LCD TV was brilliant for watching the football. There was a shower over bath with quality amenities. Proximity to the Flinders Street Station & trams a bonus for travel to Victoria Markets and Docklands. Surrounded by restaurants, food outlets and shops it proved to be a very worthwhile venue. Following lunch, snack Pizzas ordered on the Happy Hour menu at $10.00 were good value and the staff were efficient throughout our stay.
One criticism was the decor and the lack of paintings on the walls. We could have been in a room in any city in any country!

Room Tip: Request the high floor with uneven numbers for the window view! .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed at the Citigate for 6 nights. Picked it for proximity to the Flinders St Railway Station as we had to go down to Frankston for a day. Room was reasonably clean but best feature was the friendliness of the staff. WE stayed on the 5th floor about half way back because we wanted to avoid the street noise. All good except for the evacuation one night when someone used their hairdryer in the bedroom setting of the fire alarm. Didn't use the restaurant but there are heaps of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citigate Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citigate Melbourne

Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citigate Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citigate Melbourne offers contemporary accommodation positioned opposite Flinders Street Station. The hotel is close to all the major sporting, fashion, entertainment and dining precincts within Melbourne. Citigate Melbourne features contemporary guest rooms with many offering breathtaking views of the Yarra River and Southbank. Guests can also enjoy a casual drink or meal in the relaxed environment of the Lobby Bar, keep healthy in the gymnasium, or surf the internet with free WiFi in the lobby and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Citigate Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citigate Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.