We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is in a fantastic location with amazing views of Melbourne!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citigate Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Citigate Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Citigate Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is in a fantastic location with amazing views of Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

The Citigate Melbourne is in a fantastic location. Right on Flinders St and across the road from Flinders Station, it is within walking distance of World Square, the MCG, shops, South Bank and South Wharf and the city's beautiful laneway cafes. The rooms are immaculate and the Cityview room has a great private balcony has 180 degree views of the city and the Yarra River.

Room Tip: Looks at deals on www.wotif.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitigateMel, General Manager at Citigate Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Citigate Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. The location of the hotel I agree is a great asset and the proximity to local attractions is very convenient.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    331
    153
    53
    31
See reviews for
87
258
64
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel 2 nights last week. We had found a really good deal on wotif and after seeing the position of the hotel right opposite Flinders Street Railway Station I was very dubious about the noise factor. Fears unfounded it was very quiet in our room on 12th floor.
The service at reception was friendly and helpful and the concierge was a font of knowledge regarding tourist information.
There is a taxi zone outside the hotel and with tramstops and railway station close it is easy to get around on public transport. There are shops close by and you are virtually in the CBD, so for business, pleasure or shopping it is ideal.
I only have 2 minor complaints, There is no evening service in the restaurant and no hard copy compendium in the room. We couldn't get the TV to bring up the hotel facilities but as we didn't call for help, it could possibly have been our fault, missing soemthing in the instructions.
There are plenty of places to eat close by and we chose to have breakfast out one morning and room service the next. The room service breakfast was fine and what was meant to be hot or warm such as toast and porridge certainly was. Didn't use the restaurant for breakfast so can't comment.
All up a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

From the minute we walked in the staff were friendly and helpful, even giving advice on where to go on a Friday and Saturday night. Rooms were comfy. No view - but we weren't there for the view! Beautifuly presented lobby, functional, clean and tidy hotel that is right opposite Flinders Street Station (didn't hear a train once!). You can walk into the city in a few minutes. Definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Booked this place as a secret hotel through Wotif.com so for what we paid, it's pretty good value for its location and the service. Staff were friendly and helpful, but couldn't always fulfil our requests. We asked for a queen or king size bed but were given two single beds pushed together and so had to ask for an extra inlay/bedding to make the bed more comfortable, and still the bed was only OK. Asked for a room higher up, but none were available that had a queen or king bed. The room itself was not very large, but enough for what we needed. It was in the back of the building and so had an ordinary view of some concrete but it meant that we weren't bothered by the noises of the city.

However, during a very cold week in Melbourne, it was nice to come back to a warm, clean room. Location is pretty great and room was quiet and the hotel is a 1 minute walk to the cafes on Degraves St and Flinders St Station and trams/trains to pretty much anywhere in Melbourne. For the price we paid, can't really complain, however if we were paying full price and expected a 4 1/2 star hotel, we'd be a little disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I was booked into this hotel by a company I was visiting - it used to be the Ramada for those familiar with Melbourne. You need to ask for a room with a view as there are many rooms that face directly to another building. A high floor is also a good idea as Flinders Street is noisy. We had a nice room with a window in the room and another one in the bathroom. The bed was comfy and a large TV provided. Negatives were quite weak water pressure and a few things were dirty (eg fan in bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned for years). The breakfast was OK - nothing special, but nothing terrible. The staff were fine. The selling points for this hotel is the location - right next to Flinders Street station and trams on Elizabeth Street so you can get anywhere easily. If you can find a good priced room (say under $160), I would recommend.

Room Tip: High floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Just returned from staying two nights at Citigate Melbourne. I was a bit nervous after reading the other reviews, but my young son and I had a great stay here. It is a fantastic location, just across the bridge to Southbank for restaurants, and tram stop right out the front which made getting around so easy. Quick walk also into Myer. Our room was lovely and comfortable, big enough and had very comfortable twin beds, great tv with lots of channels, and ipod dock etc. We were on level 5 and it was lovely and quiet. Great friendly staff on Reception who helped out with all questions and offered free internet and a free newspaper everyday. Lovely breakfast staff too who were happy to organise things for my son. Would definately stay again and found it great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed over Easter for 5 nights. The room was reasonable size (not big but not tiny). Had all the requirements - iron, safe , wine glasses etc but looked past its prime. The furnishings were worn.

House keeping left a lot to be desired - we wound find the ironing board and cushions where we had left them, nothing picked up and tided. Just the bed made and the bathroom rudimentarily cleaned. You expect it better than this.

For breakfast the food was reasonable but even though they say it finished at 11am they were advising you they were closing breakfast at 10:30.

The front desk could not be more helpful. Lovely people to deal with and willing to organise a booking or give directions. Couldn't fault them.

Overall a pleasant experience. Great location. If only the rooms - less worn and housekeeping had not dropped the ball.

Room Tip: Go high as this is on a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citigate Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citigate Melbourne

Also Known As:
Citigate Melbourne Hotel
Citigate Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Citigate Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Citigate Hotel
Address: 270 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Ramada Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citigate Melbourne 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citigate Melbourne offers contemporary accommodation positioned opposite Flinders Street Station. The hotel is close to all the major sporting, fashion, entertainment and dining precincts within Melbourne. Citigate Melbourne features contemporary guest rooms with many offering breathtaking views of the Yarra River and Southbank. Guests can also enjoy a casual drink or meal in the relaxed environment of the Lobby Bar, keep healthy in the gymnasium, or surf the internet with free WiFi in the lobby and business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Citigate Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citigate Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.