We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You dont even get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of George Powlett Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added George Powlett Apartments to your Saves list
George Powlett Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   30 Powlett Street | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You dont even get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

After viewing the rooms on online, I thought that with this price, the quality could be just okay. I was wrong. As my son and I arrived, we were blown away by how small, dirty and outdated the room was. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, the rooms noisy but worst of all was the bathroom. Tiles missing from the shower floor means you are standing on dirt, and rusty leaking pipes leave you having an uncomfortable dirty shower.

The only positive about this accommodation is its location in regards to the MCG, however, I would be much happier paying a little more and staying slightly further away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    28
    14
    30
See reviews for
19
26
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My third visit to the Australia Open and have always stayed at these apartments. Excellent position, able to walk to the tennis. The decor has been updated. Warmly welcomed by reception. Rooms clean, towels changed daily. Flat screen TV, free wi-fi. Why would you stay at the Hilton when you can have a comfy bed at half the price?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

wasn't sure my travel partner was coming left booking til day of travel, booked for 1 night as not sure being so cheap we would like it, requested and got balcony as we are smokers.
we arrived afterhours and let ourselves in following instructions given earlier,
had milk, coffee, tea and sugar enough to keep us going for the night.
hooked up easily to the free wifi (and i'm not computer smart),
there is a 24 hour shop for basics on the corner.
maccas 10 minute walk
10 minute easy stroll to the city
we loved it so much booked a couple more nights, with them giving us the discount which they didn't have to, and booked a couple more nights on our return from staying at st Kilda.
but accommodation in St Kilda was filthy, so rang them next morning asking if they had a room available cause we wanted to come back and luckily they did.
arrived back early so they stored our luggage while we went off to lunch at a great pub British Crown hotel about 10 minutes walk, which had a lovely beer garden.
got a different room on return still with balcony, not quite as nice a room as the other one, but still clean.
they had room service each day with fresh towels.
the staff were all friendly and helpful, if you need directions they will give it to you
can't recommend highly enough, will always use when in melbourne

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Booked three nights. Arrived an hour before check-in time, but were warmly welcomed. Room was spacious, with a double bed and one single bed, flat screen tv. table and chairs, smallish bathroom, but adequate, with a toilet, shower and basin. The kitchenette consisted of a microwave and a sink, kettle and toaster, plus dishes and coffee/tea makings.The room we had (Number 10) was on the first floor at the Powlett Street side, and had a very small balcony. On the windows there were both block-out blinds as well as shade blinds. The room also had a new air conditioner, which was nice and quiet. Free car parking is a bit tight, and would not recommend trying to park a family size car under the building. as we had to reverse a few times to get around the corner to it. The apartments are only about 50 metres from a tram stop, one block from Fitzroy Gardens,100 metres from Jolimont railway station, and about 250 metres from the MCG.. It was really walking distance from the CBD. There is also a coin operated guest laundry on the premises. Contrary to some other reviews I have read, we found the staff friendly and the place not noisy at all. Will happily stay there again and recommend it to anyone who wants a budget place to stay in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Powlett Street side have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great Location, 50 metres or so from the MCG.
Nightmare carpark, rusty pipes in pluming mean you will be bathing in rusty water.
OK service, daily towels and linen.
Was a bit concerned by the water after every shower which seemed to leak from the wall outside the room.
Other customers children seem to have no self awareness that ither people are there and wont shut up, running round til late at night, but this is not managments fault.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The rooms are very basic. Parking is tight & minimal. Our room was dirty, used towels were left in our bathroom and I had to wipe the bath out before using it for my kids. There is one plug to be used for bath, bathroom sink & kitchen sink - not very hygienic! Bathroom needs a very thorough clean!! Walls are very very thin. Won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed there recently on a Saturday night. We wanted to be close to the CBD and this hotel looked like it would be good. It was cheap at $99 a night including parking. We arrived in the afternoon and should have realised very soon how awful it was going to be and move. It was incredibly noisy, our room was right by a fire exit gate, the walls were paper thin and it seemed that every other guest was talking to their neighbours at the top of their voices. The room was clean enough, a lumpy bed, but we thought for the price it would be okay.
We were out til 12am, arriving back in the room it seemed there was a generator on that stopped by 1am or so, we realised it was someones room heater that they left on til they got home, but it was so very loud. Then people arrived back at various times during the early hours, some using the fire exit to go have a cigarette, not using their 'inside voices' either.
The worst was at 4am when some young girls arrived back, talking loudly, and one of their friends was locked out, so she yelled as loud as she could for her friends to let her in. It took them about 15mins to do this.
There was no 24 hour desk to go ask for help, nor a phone in the room or any notes with contact numbers.
In all, we had 3 hours sleep because by 7am or so the cleaning trolley was rolling past our door.
We told the receptionist of our bad stay, she said she would look into it, we don't blame her, but hope something is done to stop this happening to others.
Perhaps if you stay during the week it is fine but be aware, because of the cheap price and proximity to the CBD and sporting stadiums (where they hold concerts) you will get loud drunks and it really isn't worth paying less, unless you are one of the loud drunks and none of this bothers you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to George Powlett Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Powlett Apartments

Address: 30 Powlett Street | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Powlett Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Powlett Apartments is located in the quiet exclusive area of East Melbourne, just a short stroll to the CBD, Markets, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and Fitzroy Gardens. The 43 Studio Apartments are suitable for up to 3 people and include ensuite bathroom, kitchenette, airconditioning and limited free car parking. Guest laundry and ironing room, Same day dry cleaning service, Business fax and photocopying service, Easy public transport access to CBD and many Melbourne attractions, Rooms serviced regularly (except Sundays). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your George Powlett Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Powlett Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Powlett Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.