We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“theif” 1 of 5 stars
Review of George Powlett Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added George Powlett Apartments to your Saves list
George Powlett Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   30 Powlett Street | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“theif”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Warning!

Be careful if providing them with your credit card details, the manager took money out of my account without any permission!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgepowlettapts, Manager at George Powlett Apartments, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
The guest booked a room for 2 people however there were in fact 6 people stay in the room. As per our extra guest policies we processed the appropriate charge to the guest's account. As the guest is currently under investigation for attempting to accommodate extra people without paying we cannot comment any further. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    28
    14
    30
See reviews for
19
26
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Reserved a double and single, was instead given a triple, with staff claiming that was what I reserved. Staff were surly and unhelpful, on the rare occasions when I could actually track them down. Cleaning service sporadic - towels sometimes replaced, sheets never were. Broke a glass in the room, asked for a dustpan and brush, was told someone would be sent up to clean it. One hour later, went and found the vacuum cleaner and did it myself. Washing machine and dryer cost $7 (and frustratingly would ONLY accept $1 coins), as though it were a YHA. Iron did not work. Staff supposed to provide washing powder, but directed me to buy it from a 7-11 instead. Kitchenette consisted of a toaster, microwave and kettle; we had to buy our own electric frying pan. Bathroom tiny, unclean, and pipes literally screeched when hot water was used. Windows with huge cracks in them, walls with peeling paint. Wifi sporadically went off for days at a time. Smallest underground carpark in the entire world - I had a motorbike, but pity the souls who had to navigate cars down there.

Good location but probably the worst value for money I have ever had, even after backpacking across Asia. Yes, it's cheap, but that does not mean it is good value for money. Spend an extra ten or twenty dollars a night and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Really below average accommodation hard beds, unclean bath mats and bed covers. Dirty walls and service was next to none.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Basically, it's what we pay for - cheap accommodation very close to the downtown Melbourne. The facilities are old and run down, heaters, lighting, furniture - all very old. The room's door didn't feel safe enough. Room service was extremely basic, obviously room service staff has no idea about any training as well as about service. Every single word about car park is true - this is VERY TIGHT. Lucky we had a small one. But it was OK if you're coming to the place only to sleep (as we did). However staff were helpful, room clean, sleep quiet, location excellent, and I would recommend the place to everyone who is tight in the travel budget.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I am here at the moment - 21/10/10. The management here is rude, indifferent and unhelpful. The room is old but it's clean, quiet and comfortable and I had a good sleep. However, I've stayed in hotels in Melbourne for a few dollars more than this, which have been a lot nicer. I think their prices are too high for what they offer.

The free WiFi is good.

The worst thing about this place is the smell when you come in the front door. It smells like a urinal. Something like that should be fairly easy to fix, I would have thought. And given that first impressions are so important, I think it would make a big difference.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed 4 cold nights in this awful place. Our room over looked the back alley. The heater in the room sounded like a diesel tractor and on the second night started smelling like it was just about to burst into flame. A hole in the wall with bare wires and rubble marked where a power point used to be and the exposed plumbing in the bathroom just topped off the picture.
We looked in a room at the west on George st and that was even worse than ours!!
My Mother stayed in a room overlooking Powlett st that pretty much was ok.
Be careful, the rooms vary a lot.

Stayed September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at George Powlett apartments recently and attended a concert at Rod Laver Arena. It was a great position for walking to our venue, also would be perfect if attending the football etc. Also right at Jollimont station for trains and few minutes to CBD on tram.
We found GP to be great in all areas. Yes its a wee bit older than some motels but it was clean, the towels and sheets clean and too the bathroom. No 5 star spa or fancies, but you get what you pay for. Each room can sleep up to 4 with the addition of a fold out bed. All appliances in our room worked, as did all the lights. We took our own bread, milk, vegemite etc and made our brekkie. As we always do on trips. Toaster,kettle and utensils good.
The staff we encountered on our stay were polite, helpful and not at all rude or any of the things the other reveiwers had written.
Parking is limited but if you have to park out on the street, which is quiet and a pleasant street, the staff will give you a free parking "voucher"so as you don't get booked. At other motels in Melbourne you are charged $20 or $30 a night to park your car, sometimes down the street somewhere! Add that on to your stay!
My only problem I had with my experience at GP was we stayed in room 1 and it was a bit noisy with people coming and going up the stairs at night. Next time around we will request another room.
We will be returning to George Powlett for a future trip to Melbourne and have no problems recommending this motel to others.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Powlett Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Powlett Apartments

Address: 30 Powlett Street | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Powlett Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Powlett Apartments is located in the quiet exclusive area of East Melbourne, just a short stroll to the CBD, Markets, MCG, Rod Laver Arena and Fitzroy Gardens. The 43 Studio Apartments are suitable for up to 3 people and include ensuite bathroom, kitchenette, airconditioning and limited free car parking. Guest laundry and ironing room, Same day dry cleaning service, Business fax and photocopying service, Easy public transport access to CBD and many Melbourne attractions, Rooms serviced regularly (except Sundays). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your George Powlett Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Powlett Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Powlett Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.