We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but no good night's sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street to your Saves list
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Gold Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Value but no good night's sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Clean and well presented. Appropriate for the price and close to Southern Cross Station HOWEVER 2 doors down is a night club called Sorry Grandma, a dodgy looking nightclub with 'music' (actually just the base sound) to keep you awake until the early hours of the morning. Was still going at 6am when I stayed! A shame as this seemed like a great find until I tried to sleep........

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    361
    178
    42
    15
See reviews for
75
260
129
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Spent one night here recently and this hotel met the expectations I had of Ibis, based on several pleasant previous stays in other locations. Check-in staff reflected Melbourne's grey and gloomy weather, being rather curt and not particularly friendly.
Room was spacious and impeccably clean. Standard furnishings of Ibis hotels, with a small flat-screen TV with a few cable channels (Sky News, Comedy channel, Discovery, etc). Bathroom was compact, with the only bad point of the stay being the small bathtub, which was about the same size as my tiny tub in Japan-- I was looking forward to a nice big bathtub but unfortunately this wasn't so.
Unlike another reviewer, I did not experience any problems with noise and the blinds worked well to block out the light. I slept really well and woke refreshed.
Location is good-- if you are coming from the aisport via Skybus, it is a 3min walk from Southern Cross Station. There is an outlet shopping centre inside the station, and Crown casino, Bourke St Mall and other attractions are easily accessed via nearby trams. There are plenty of dining options but the room had a menu of a nearby pizza/pasta restaurant, through which we organised delivery.
We did not eat the rather crudely named "all you can eat" breakfast, as $20 per head seemed rather excessive. You won't go hungry in Melbourne, and there are plenty of cheaper options around that do breakfast well into the afternoon.
There was a small staff office on the floor we stayed-- not sure if this is on any other floors? Kind of odd.
Upon checking out, our opinion of the staff greatly improved our perception; she was incredibly professional yet friendly.
Don't expect a plush hotel but stay at the Ibis for good value, comfortable rooms and peace and quiet. I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Got a great special for this hotel, the room was clean & spacious for 2 people.
The staff were friendly & the location was good & close to DFO Shopping centre.
I would stay at this hotel again but would not reccomend the breakfast for $18 per person per day as there was hardly no food (we were the only people having breakfast) & would rather pay the same price for breakfast at a nearby cafe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

This Hotel is located right in the city centre which is great for getting to all the nightlife that Melbourne has to offer.
The rooms are small and basic but its very difficult to get any sleep as the windows have useless blinds instead of curtains which means you wake up at sunrise, this isnt an issue as they are knocking down the power station next door with the noisy construction works starting at 7:30AM every morning...
The room service is basic but OK, the TV is poor as you cant get and local channels due to interference and they have chosen a very basic cable TV package which means discovery or the history channel..there is a broadband internet connection which is sufficient.
Needless to say I wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

This looked like a good choice when browsing the net for acommodation before travelling to Australia. The hotel was decent enough and the service civil, bordering on friendly, but what was not mentioned to us was the fact that the hotel does not cater for vehicles!! When we arrived we were told that a parking garage three blocks away had good rates and good luck. We then had to pay that additional fee and walk three blocks every time we wanted to go out and three blocks to come back in again! Not to mention that the parking garage closes at 22h00 during the week - so no late dinners folks. Also, the hotel is not situated in the best part of town although for those without cars, the train station is close by - about a block away.So take this into consideration when looking at this hotel as an option. The rooms, however, were comfortable, clean and rather pleasant as was the little breakfast restaurant. In fact the hotel in general was very clean and well maintained. Not bad rates so not a bad choice at all, although, don't come here if you have a car or if you are fussy about location (as we unfortunately are!)

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

more than adequate basic hotel, centrally located, reasonably priced, half a block from the train station and the airport bus. No view and on a dingy side street. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Address: 600 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is conveniently located in the city centre and near Etihad Stadium. Featuring 121 rooms, the hotel is also within walking distance of the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino, factory outlet shopping and the city’s financial, legal and entertainment precincts. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.