We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nifty little hotel on Little Bourke St!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street to your Saves list
Ranked #79 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very nifty little hotel on Little Bourke St!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Getting off at the Sky Bus terminal at Southern Cross station I asked one of their staff where Hotel ibis Little Bourke St is, and he showed me where to go, a couple hundred metres walk in a laneway and there I was, no taxi fare or nothing. Easy check in, they asked for my Accor members card and gave me an Accor bag-tag. Checked-in to room 218, which is at the end of the hall, and it's a nice room with queen-sized bed with good bathroom facilities (even a bath-tub too). The only drawback I had was the bath-tub window only covered halfway, would've been nice if it did all the way, check the photos to see what I mean. So, close to the station, on a laneway so I could be away from the noise of main-streets, and a big enough room to walk around. I recommend this hotel and would stay back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear toannguyen

Many thanks for your time to provide us with valuable feedback. It is great for the team to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

take care

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    335
    168
    40
    14
See reviews for
68
245
123
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here last week due to location from Southern Cross Station and the SkyBus terminal only 500 metres walk away.

Cosy small room with all normal Hotel amenities. Would go back again for a 1 to 2 night stay as close to CBD. Very good reception staff.

Room Tip: ask for high room as noise from street could be a nuisance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear ManagerFreestyle

Many thanks for your feedback about your postive experience at the hotel recently.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stay and inparticular you found the staff to be very friendly. It is great for the staff to receive this type of feedback they really enjoy it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

take care

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The location is very convenient being directly across the main road from the main bus station, including the airport bus, and trains. The narrow entrance off a side street is very inauspicious but this is in contrast to the very warm welcome from the reception staff. They were always very pleasant. As I was staying 3 nights I was given a free upgrade to one to one of the best rooms - eighth floor, very spacious with floor to ceiling windows at one end. All was bright clean and modern. There was something of a view - not easy given the location of the hotel. I was impressed by the two layers of roller blinds but there is problem with all blinds that they let in light round the sides. The bathroom was fairly small but well designed with a good shower. Everything was very clean. The bed was comfortable and I heard no noise at all at night. The only problem was the air conditioning, which was ineffective. I reported this to the maintenance man who made some improvements but it was still not all that good.
Near reception there was a good free computer which I used daily rather than pay for w-fi. I did not have the buffet breakfast, as there were numerous cafes in the streets nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front and back have some degree of outlook but those at the side face on to a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Tony273

Thank you for your time in providing valuable feedback.

It is pleasing to find that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Our sincere apologies that the air conditioning whilst fixed was not totally to your satisfaction. We will work on this with maintenance.

We look forward to welcoming you when next in Melbourne.

thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

While it was a roof over our heads and a bed to sleep in it wasn't much more than a step up from a backpackers. While it was close to Southern Cross Station it was nowhere near anything else. The reception area was dark and basic, infact the hallways and rooms were on the dark side too. Our bed was hard and our room was very noisy, the airconditioning and bathroom fan sounded like you were at the airport. Other room and outside noise was an issue. Couln't believe that they charge to lookafter your bags after checkout and before our airport shuttle pickup. On the up side breakfast was well priced and nice. Overall disappointed and won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Accor Traveller

Many thanks for your time to provide valuable feedback on your recent.

Our sincere apologies that the hotel did not inspire confidence in your
experience. The hotel does have floor to ceiling windows to try and capture
as much natural light as possible, the surrounding tall buildings and overcast weather
can limit the access to this light at times.

We do request that if you find something not to your liking to contact Reception and we will be happy to look for a solution.

At Ibis in lieu of a portering service we offer coin operated lockers. This provides for a safe and easily accessible way to access you bags after departure.

We wish you all the best with your travels.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Please to hear that the buffet breakfast was a winner for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Close to all the amenities, transport, & featured attractions. Able to use the Shuttle tram service, within easy walking distance to the airport shuttle service. Room was clean & tidy, bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Markgaffney

Great to hear that your enjoyed your recent stay. Many thanks for taking the time to share this valuable feedback with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

take care

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Address: 600 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is conveniently located in the city centre and near Etihad Stadium. Featuring 121 rooms, the hotel is also within walking distance of the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino, factory outlet shopping and the city’s financial, legal and entertainment precincts. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;