We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with clean room, good location and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel with clean room, good location and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Southern Cross Station (Skybus terminal from / to Airport). Hotel room is clean where there is extra pillow and blanket provided. There are 24 hours shops like pie face and hungry jack's at the Southern Cross Station. The supermarket, Coles, is also within 10 mins walk from the hotel. The hotel location is considered good for us as it is within the city area.

The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly. They are able to assist us when we encountered some issue in Melbourne.

It would be great if there is free WiFi. I would recommend the hotel to improve their city map as Melbourne Zoo is not as nearer as indicated on the map.

I would recommend this hotel to other if visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Shirley

Many thanks for your time to provide valuable feedback about your recent stay.

It is pleasing to hear that our rooms are clean - housekeeping take pride
in preparing them for our guests.

WIFI is a challenge - we are able to offer 15 minutes free per day on a terminal in the foyer.
We offer WIFI in the privacy of your room for $10.00 per 24 hours - at this stage this is the most competitive pricing we can get to cover all our rooms. It is an area we and continually working on for the best pricing.

Disappointing that you found the map not to be informative enough on hte location of the Melbourne Zoo. We are supplied these from a local provider, when they next delivery we will inform them of your feedback.

many thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    311
    161
    38
    14
See reviews for
62
229
121
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having stayed at other Ibis hotels this was exactly what we expected it to be, with the added bonus that we were able to check into our room early (9am when bookings are only guranteed from 2pm). Also the rooms have the Fox Sports tv channels, which is more than I was expecting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Culky

Many thanks for your time in suppling valuable feedback about your recent stay.

It is very pleasing to hear that we where able to surprise you.

We look forwar dto welcoming you back in the near future.

thanks
Mary Ellen O'Malley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Friendly staff, not bad position, close to Southern Cross Station and Sky Bus. Room small but well designed and very clean. Not much in the way of facilities but not far to take away food or Pubs and Restrauants.

Room Tip: Choose High Floor Room because of Night Club next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Chrissyi

Many thanks for your valuable feedback.

Great to hear that the hotels location was central to your requirements.
The hotel offers a daily breakfast service, and leaves other dining cuisine choices
to the extensive range that are on offer within the many dining precients within Melbourne being so extensive.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Seasons Greetings.

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were coming in to the main bus station from Adelaide and leaving from the same location so I booked the hotel which is just up the street. I wasn't sure how it would be but the front desk service was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located within walking distance to everything downtown and it's half a block's walk to the main area for pick-up if you are booking any day trips. There are bus stations and trams that are easy to access. Great place for a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Stopoverqueen

Thanks for your time to share your recent experience at the hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel and its location in particular
very central to your requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Seasons Greetings.

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

All in all the hotel is more or less okay in terms of pricing and the overall quality of the stay. Lets start with the good things first. Arriving from the airport with the skybus the hotel is nearly right next to the southern cross station. If you cut short through 7eleven its less than a five minute walk. The second good thing is that you have a good starting point to discover the Melbourne CBD. I even used the small gym room on the upper floor once. It was also okay, although it did not provide any towels or cleanser for the equipemnt everything looked pretty clean and was working.

The bad thing about the hotel is that most of the rooms are next to a small alley with a gray old and dirty building next to it. So whenever you dare to pull up your window blinds you won't gain nearly any light out that and look at the dirty wall of the building next door (I had twice a room on the second floor). My AC control panel looked like it was from the 50s or 60s. Temp was always set to "19" (degrees?) and whenever I pressed the "med" or "high" switch I heard some clicking noise. That was it. By the way, I stayed twice in that hotel in two different rooms and the AC was same in both rooms. I did not experience any cooling at all (although tempretures outside were okay). The ameneties in the bath and towels and all stuff were okay. However they had only shampoo and soap bars and I was missing some shower gel. I did not ask for it. Perhaps they would have had it at the reception.

Further downsides are extra costs: Wifi is 10 AUD per day. And if you want to pay with credit card it is another 1.5 percent on your bill. If you want to deposit your bag before leaving, you can either do so in a small shelf in a room on the ground floor which they don't want to be resposible for or you have to put it into a locker that is standing there an pay about 14 AUD/day extra. In my opinion the room rates for this hotel already are an upper bound to its quality even though it is in a good location adding extra charges for the small and nice things makes it not a good deal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a view to little bourke street and prefer the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Max M

Many thanks for your valuable feedback on your recent stay at the hotel.

It is great to hear that aspects of your visits meet your expectations.

Views from the rooms are limited as the building is surrounded by buildings which are all taller than the 9 levels of accommodation at the hotel. There are 2 rooms per level that overlook Little Bourke Street these rooms do look into the buildings car park or offices again limiting the views.
Unfortunately we are limited with our ability to change this format.

Bathroom amenities per our recommendation do not include a shower gel, they consist of shampoo, conditioner and soap. We will forward your feedback on this to the brand standard specialists.

Wifi charges we have been able to dramatically reduce in the past 12 months from $27.50 to $10.00 per 24 hours. In the foyer we also offer a daily 15 minute free session for all guests to access emails and internet. The brand is currently in the process of reviewing the Wifi charges
as to what options may be available in the future in a ongoing process to best meet our guests needs.

The use of additional services within the hotel do incur fees. The concept is to keep the pricing of rooms as low as possible and base other services on a user pay application. This does not always meet everyone's expectation - we work hard to be as effective as possible in these areas and do work on reviewing these services regularly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Seasons Greetings

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here several times just year, rooms are always clean and well presented. Looks like they've just gone a renovation too :)

The staff have always been friendly and i've met many of them! They're always happy to see you and are very professional. Considering the low cost of rooms, definitely value for money.

5 minute walk from southern cross station and 15 minutes to Docklands.
Cheaper than a taxi home after a night out :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Jemmastar87

Many thanks for your time to share your recent experience.
The team work very hard to ensure that the hotel is presented in the best possible
manner achievable.

We value your regular support and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Seasons Greetings.

Mary Ellen O'Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Address: 600 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is conveniently located in the city centre and near Etihad Stadium. Featuring 121 rooms, the hotel is also within walking distance of the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Crown Casino, factory outlet shopping and the city’s financial, legal and entertainment precincts. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.