We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just passing by....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The MerryWell Melbourne

The MerryWell Melbourne
8 Whiteman St | The Crown Complex, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #623 of 3,965 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Mornington Peninsula
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just passing by....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Thought we would try something different at Crown, but not really to our taste. Suited more to the yuppy market looking for trendy food and upmarket beer and wine. Meal was good, wine was good, but not suited to baby boomer market really

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    22
    60
    31
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the BBQ burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Café style outlet which is in a great location for a meeting place but lacks seating for larger groups.
Would consider going there for coffee only next time but won’t be having lunch there again, there are better alternatives for my low price orientation and food tastes.

Beer prices between $10 – $11.5 per pint, wines $11-$13 per glass. Soft drink (Coke, Fanta…etc) $4.50, Coffee $3.50.

They have a $17.00 (AUD) BBQ burger listed on the menu as “Pulled Pork, BBQ Sauce…” but no mention of it being a very small amount of pulled pork placed on top of a beef burger.

When i read pulled pork i think of an American style pulled pork meal ie: a bread roll filled with pulled portk and a special sauces...etc. It's very different, I should have asked so my fault. But i will say that its misleading to even write pulled pork on the menu with this menu choice. Reword the BBQ burger to read "BBQ Burger - Beef patty topped with a small amount of pulled pork" it also was not tasty enough generally lacking in flavour.

The Potato chips (listed as fries) ordered at additional cost were golden brown and tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simple food, well executed, good range of beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've eaten at the Merrywell in Perth and Melbourne, nice little place with good atmosphere. Food on offer is a range of what I would call American style classics with a twist - mini Maine lobster rolls, wagyu sliders, pulled pork quesadillas, parmesan and truffle fries etc. All delicious and great format for sharing over drinks. Great selection of beers including some excellent local craft beers, good selection of wines etc too. Casual location, good for group dining or a quick bite in the sun.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cosy little eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You obviously need to book in advance as we were unable to get into the restuarant upstairs so decided to just have the gourmet hamburgers downstairs. The service was extremely quick. We had a jug of Sangria and it was beautiful. The hamburgers were not overly big but I am not sure we could have eaten anymore. Enjoyable night.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Today we stopped off at werry well for a work dinner
Had the ribs and about 4 pints of dirty granny cider

Great feed and service

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The MerryWell Melbourne also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The MerryWell Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MerryWell Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.