We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
125 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 3,967 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

When I found out there was a two hour wait for a table I decided to pass, but went back the next day for lunch to see why it was so popular and now I know why there was a two hour wait. Fantastic food, excellent service and something just that little bit different. A must try while in Melbourne.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    533
    287
    64
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Some of the best Thai I have had !! Modern ,beautiful presentation,full of flavour and good size portions. You are not able to book here so you may have to wait however they offer a great service where they text you when your table is ready. So we shopped in some of the boutiques in the surrounding streets.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Could be a very long wait but it is worth it. Anything from their menu is great and great service too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Managed to get a seat before the AFL final game wrapped up. Great Asian tapas! Also great service (considering the general level of service overall in Aus in a non-tipping culture).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
443 helpful votes 443 helpful votes
“Atmosphere personified at Chin Chin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to have a number of dinners at Chin Chin and each one has been an exceptional dining experience.
Starting downstairs in the GoGo Bar was a nice transition before heading upstairs to dine with friends.
The Wine Man nailed exactly the sort of red wine I needed and checked back with me to see if I was enjoying it - nice touch.
Once my friends arrived, we were spoilt with an array of delightful dishes that even me as a non fish eater - couldn't resist experimenting with the Kingfish.
Ben Cooper's finesse in the kitchen shows. His attention to detail and creative presentation skills made it a great evening.
Atmosphere is as important as the food. Chin Chin buzzes with an eclectic group of diners, sprinkled with celebrities, sporting personalities, office workers, business people, groovers, fine diners and more. It appears to be 'quite the place' at times.This made the room noisy but it never detracted from the culinary treats in front of us.
This is not the sort of place to go if you want a seat straight away and then zoom off somewhere else. It's a place where you have a whole experience. Whether you are able to be seated straight away or start downstairs, soak it all up for what it is.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chin Chin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.