We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always full” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
125 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #19 of 3,887 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always full”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Every time we passed this place was full so we gave it a go late afternoon before the evening crush. Food was good with the Scud curry living up to its name! Efficient service - perhaps a bit too much. Good ambiance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    441
    251
    54
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love it - try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hip buzzy fun noisy with super food and knowledgeable super-helpful staff! Choose your time well - the wait staff suggested mid afternoon as the best chance of being seated immediately. We had arrived on a Monday night around 6.30 and advised that there would be a 30 minute wait for a bar seat or 1.5 hours for a table. Do consider cooling your heels downstairs at Go Go. It is worth a visit in its own right, with table service, good range of boutique beers and wine by the glass. Our credit card followed us from Go Go to Chin Chin - amazing efficiency considering how busy everything was. Our seat at the bar was fine. Got to see the staff / food assembly in action, this added to the experience for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Noisy, common food and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

After reading the good comments on tripadvisor we went to ChinChin for lunch. The restaurant was quickly full and noisy. The busy waitress suggested us to choose 2-3 starters (~$15 each) and 2-3 mains (~$25 each) for...the two of us... if we wanted to have a "decent" amount of food. As we didn't want to spend our daily budget in such a place we took 2 "mains". Portions were ridiculously small, far too spicy. Their recommended carafe wine ($9 a glass!) was vinegar. Trendy and fashion place perfect if you want to show off but not if you love food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kingfish sashimi is a MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Short trip away to Melbourne with my husband and no recommendations for any restaurants. Found Chin Chin advertised in the local tourist map and after viewing it on Trip Advisor, we gave it a go. Monday night at 5:30pm we arrived and by 6:00pm it was full and heaving with lots of lovely people. We ordered two starters and three mains which was sufficient and no room left for dessert. This cost the same of the Feed Me option but we wanted to choose for ourselves. The King Fish was divine and a must for your menu. We will certainly return there on our next trip to Melbourne, whenever that maybe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Late Friday lunch became dinner as well. Fast, spicy and buzzing. Fantastic vibe, snappy service and eclectic crowd. Best idea is to go outside traditional hours.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chin Chin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.