We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a buzz, but it will cost you.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
125 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 3,998 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“There is a buzz, but it will cost you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Chin Chin has a big reputation for modern, fresh asian food. The moment you step in you can feel the buzz - it's full at lunchtime. The food is delicious, fresh zingy flavours. But, at $25 a main for lunch it is not for everyone. The people next to us did not like their mocktail and, while listening sympathetically, the waitress did not offer a refund or an alternative or tell the kitchen. That, plus the price, bought it down from 5 stars for me.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    555
    298
    69
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After hearing amazing things about this restaurant we decided we would go see what all the fuss was about, and we wasn't disappointed. We went for the 'FEED ME' menu which consisted of 7 dishes between the 2 of us. Loved it all bar the 'son in law eggs' great service, and we only waited 5 mins. The queue did build as we were waiting, I'd defiantly recommend going in at lunch. A must visit to all visiting/living in Melbourne.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have wanted to go to Chin Chin for a while and finally got there on a Friday evening recently. We were going to the theatre so got there at 5.30pm, there was already a waitlist as it is so popular, but that was no problem as we put our name and number down and headed down to GoGo bar downstairs for a drink. About 20 minutes later our table was ready! We had 3 entrees to share and a main of Wagyu Beef stir fry with rolled noodles and a side of chinese greens. The food was amazing, the best asian cuisine we have had in a while. The wine list is also impressively extensive and good. We will definitely be visiting Chin Chin again soon!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trendy Asian Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A 40 minute wait down stairs in the charming bar was worthwhile. The service was very friendly and advised intelligently on how to order. There was a good selection of fish and vegetarian dishes and it was delicious.

The ingredients were fresh and tasty and the 5 dishes we shares between two were very filling. The kingfish wings were a crunchy novelty and the fried sardines were delicious. Tofu lovers will delight too!

I had been recommended Chin Chin a few times and am glad I finally ate there and will do again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yum yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We're shown straight to 2 seats at the food preparation bar at 5:30 on a sat night. Loved watching what they were doing and guessing which menu items they were. Loved the food. Amazing flavours and sauces. Had the raita, pork and crab balls, barramundi and pork salad. The last only had 2 very tiny identifiable pieces of barra but was still good, but not the best we had

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chin Chin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.