We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very trendy, but worth the effort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
125 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
03-8663-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“very trendy, but worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Another 'industrial chic' dining experience: high ceilings, exposed aircon and cabling, noisy noisy NOISY.

Don't get me wrong, the food is exceptional, but it just feels a bit too cool for school if you know what I mean. The staff all have edgy, high maintenance hair styles and look like they've just stepped out of Dazed and Confused; there's a LOT of people watching going on; and the place gets packed out with shouting trendies VERY quickly. As it does fill up so fast it's worth getting there early to minimise waiting time.

That said, I'll definitely be back as I had a major case of food envy! I had the shrimp rice dish with sweet pork and it was a taste sensation, bursting with zingy flavours (I've used this expression before, but it's really the best way to sum up this new wave of asian fusion cuisine), it was utterly moorish and I could easily have eaten the same again. My friends had: musuman curry (rich and sensuous), cuttle fish (crisp and fresh), Pad Thai (bursting with zingy flavours again!). All very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    920
    488
    126
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Yummy - vegan options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Never been to a place that is full at 5:30pm on a Sunday!!! Tried the tofu salad, the DIY spring rolls, roti and a coconut slushie (each day is different). The pick of the 4 options we tried was the DIY spring rolls, roti and the slushie was really yummy. We didn't try the dessert but they did look nice.

Will go back, but make sure we get there early (heard on the way out - approx 6:00pm - that a walk up of 3 would have to wait 1 hour).

Tip: worth asking for a seat at the bar as a way to skip the queue.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Knock-out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Buzzy, crazy, casual, flirty and adorable spot with energy to burn. We went for a late lunch and sat at the kitchen "bar". The waitstaff were very well informed and gave us excellent recommendations, which we followed. We kicked off with a great house pinot gris and shared Kingfish Sashimi with lime, chilli, coconut and Thai basil. WOW. We moved onto the super fresh and perfectly executed Green Papaya salad accompanied by Goat Curry (trust me, slow-roasted for 24hrs and then bbq'd). So delicious. Can't wait to return.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Being an Asian, I was a bit skeptical about Chin Chin. I didn't want to pay the inflated price to eat westernised version of Asian dishes that don't taste as nice but I was pleasantly surprised. The curries were so good and fragrant. We ordered 4 dishes and they all lived up to our expectations. Service was good. The only bad thing about this place is the booking and the waiting. You are not allowed to sit at your booked table until your whole group arrive (we had no problem waiting at the bar downstairs which was cool but it could be a little bit annoying maybe for some people). I will go definitely go back to Chin Chin. It's a fun place and the food is really good. It's a good place to have dinner on weekends with close friends.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eat all u can as you may not get back in there! Chin Chin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This is such a hard restaurant to get into ! I have tried 4 times (I'm not from Melbourne). It was 6pm Friday night and a 3hr wait!! The guy on the door though (bless him) helped us out and sat us down.

Food is tasty and if u like sashimi definitely try the kingfish - it's awesome. Fried sardines were pretty great too. Best to go with a couple of people so you can sample a few dishes. Staff are friendly. The tables are too little as once u get a few dishes you have no room on your table for drinks ect which is a bit annoying. It was Friday night and it was packed. Might try lunch next time - that's if u can get in.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chin Chin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.