We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful fresh food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
125 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
03-8663-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 3,914 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful fresh food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great ambience, sat near kitchen & able to watch all the chefs & apprentices working furiously to get the food to a very full restaurant. Food was so fresh & favours amazing. Staff so helpful & attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    920
    487
    126
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Simply a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a great time at Chin Chin. We (2 persons) arrived at 5:45 pm on a Thursday and got seated at the (kitchen) counter immediately as the waiting time for a table was 2 hours. They don't take reservation but you can leave you name & wait at the Go Go Bar down stairs, which is a very hip & happening bar. There were a few layers deep of almost a thousand people at the huge bar.

What I love about Chin Chin:
i) High energy happening place to be from the time we entered the restaurant.
ii) Fast, efficient & friendly service staff. We were greeted by the waiter & suggested we share our food (like most places, its the trend now). The wait staff seemed very professional as they were attentive and fast at servicing & turning the tables.
iii) Nice music, simple modern decor, furniture & energetic ambiance.
v) Wide variety of food & drink selections, almost everything in the menu looks good but we just ate an hour before so we only ordered 3 items. Dry red curry of soft shell crab; chargrilled wagyu; and palm sugar ice cream sundae with honeycomb. They all tasted delicious, just perfect portion for 2 persons. As we were seated by the kitchen counter, we saw the kitchen staff preparing our food.
iv) The price & portion were reasonable for the good quality of food & service, a good value.

As we were leaving at 7:30pm, at the door, we overheard the receptionist told a guest that the wait was 3 hours and the guest happily answered "sure, put my name on". and there were quite a line waiting at the door. There are not many places people would wait hours in the cold. That shows how hot Chin Chin is right now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a bustling no booking restaurant in a cool lane in Melbourne. I go for lunch - arrive at about 1.30 or 2.00 during the week and you can get a table right away. They don't seem to close - it just gets a little quieter. I LOVE the food here. There is a wonderful selection of Asian and fusion food from across the continent. The zucchini corn frittters are sensational, and had the pull apart pork with the pancakes last time - wow, don't miss that one. And EVERY TIME the crispy duck with ginger and cucumber salad - excellent. I am happy with the house wine here - there is a great selection and all the varieties are reasonable quality - the pinot gris/grigio is very good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Staff are efficient and knowlegeable about the dishes on offer, service is on the ball, food is excellent and wine list does not disappoint. It can feel a bit like a machine at times with how quickly tables are turned over and everyone comes and goes but well worth waiting for a table just to experience. Will defintely return to this one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent good, great atmosphere. Shame about the staff at the desk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Make sure you are prepared for a long wait for a table. I arrived with 2 friends at 5:45pm and requested a table for 3 which we were told (in a very blunt manor) that the first table would not be ready until 8:30pm. We were happy to have a few drinks at GoGo Bar downstairs so were not too concerned about the time and after all it was a Friday night. The issue we did have was with the attitude and complete lack of customer focus of the desk staff. The bar staff and waiting staff were excellent but these 'ladies' has an attitude and treated us like she was doing US a favour. If it wasnt for the fact that it was Friday night and we would have struggled getting a booking elsewhere we would have walked out.

The food itself was fantastic. The Pork Roll-ups and the Massaman Curry in particular were excellent. Be careful if you do not eat spicy food as some of the dishes can be spicy for people unaccustomed to this style of food.

If they could loose the attitude this place will be Excellent. Until then it is impossible to rate more than very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chin Chin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.