We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views small beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Docklands Private Collection of Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Docklands Private Collection of Apartments to your Saves list
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   41 Caravel Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great views small beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Superb location giving a different perspective to glorious Melbourne, with car parking an added bonus. A couple of issues with a 2 bedroom apartment was that we had 2 adult teenagers staying in the second room both close to 182 cms tall and the tiny beds were inappropriate so 1 slept on the lounge/sofa. Given that the lounge room is huge, consideration could be given to providing a convertible sofa bed instead since the rooms are so small.
Also since we paid 4.5 star costs we expected the pool to be heated but it was icy cold so some heating would pay dividends. Otherwise an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for your review, Tony J, we have taken the feedback on board regarding the small single beds and will change the information to reflect this until we can change the beds. The pool heating is a little more difficult to control with Melbourne having many nights of low temperatures 2-5C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
41
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location is great, in the heart of the Docklands, near shops, restaurants, trams. Great view overlooking the water.
We had a two bedroom apartment with bathroom and en suite. All clean, and well equipped. One issue was the room we had turned into two singles. They were the tiniest beds I've ever seen!
Check in was easy, and the young lad at reception was cheerful, helpful and friendly.
We found it quiet and enjoyed our stay here. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you Marcus B for your review, we have many apartments that overlook the water, and many don't, so make sure if you return to book a water view apartment again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

great views, great service, got upgraded first time ever to a great room with everything we needed would stay again no problem. close to restaurants etihad stadium so good for football fans walking distance to everything you will need shopping and the big wheel value for money .

Room Tip: higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Upgrades are always a nice surprise and when we can we love to! No guarantees however...We hope to see you back again at Docklands private Collection Sharon B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

No question about the location, new neighbourhood, plenty of foods, cafe and restaurants. Yachts all around you and the view is really amazing. Accross the main street is shopping mall connected to the giant ferries wheel. Tram station is close by and parking is available inside the building. The apartment has spacious balcony and basic furnitures. We rented 2 bedrooms apartment, one room was fitted with a double bed and the other with two irregularly sized beds smaller than twin. It would be perfect if the beds are standard sizes.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We appreciate your review Wira S. The apartments have 2 separate bedrooms usually with a queen bed in one and a double bed in the 2nd bedroom. We do have one of these apartments with a King split bed (2 singles) and a double bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallingup, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our apartment, whilst not as glamorous as the online photos, was spacious and well equipped. The location is excellent for transport, cafes and restaurants. Harbour Town is close by as are trams to the city. Parking is available at reasonable cost. It was quiet and although the weather was extremely cold, heating in the unit was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartments KerryM21
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The layout of the apartment was strange. The apartment was spacious however not a quality apartment. The photo's on their website are very deceiving. The furniture was run down as were the appliances in the kitchen and they didn't appear to be very clean. The fridge is raised off the ground and almost fell out on to our 2 year old daughter as she tried to open the door to get a drink. Overall not very impressed and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Tony12345678 we will be addressing your comments to make sure this apartment is up to the standards of all our apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Hill, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments 4 times now and seem to always return. Check in is always a breeze and the managers are always friendly and helpful.

The 3 apartments we have stayed in have been absolutely beautiful with huge rooms and vies to die for. I could sit in the lounge all night and see the city lights and the harbour.

It's perfectly situated for football at Etihad Stadium (which you can see from your room). Only a 2 minute walk from Docklands.

Food is easy to find with numerous restaurants directly under the apartments.

I can highly recommend a stay with Private Collection, you will not be disappointed :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Your review of our Executive Apartments with Docklands Private Collection is appreciated and thank you returning to stay with us 4 times Kirsty M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Docklands Private Collection of Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docklands Private Collection of Apartments

Address: 41 Caravel Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Docklands Private Collection of Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and enjoy the vibrant, cosmopolitan waterfront experience surrounding Docklands Private Collection of Apartments in Melbourne. We provide short and long term accommodation to corporate travellers and visitors to Melbourne. We have a rnage of 1,2,3 bedroom self contained apartments at NewQuay and Digital Harbour, the heart of Docklands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Docklands Private Collection of Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.