We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality apartments at the right location/price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Docklands Private Collection of Apartments

Save Saved
You added Docklands Private Collection of Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   41 Caravel Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bangalore, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quality apartments at the right location/price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom apartment on the 8th floor(Apt. 801) for 2 nights and three days. The apartment was of great quality - Clean, bright and spacious! Parking was in the same building which made is quite convenient. A general purpose store(IGA?), a liquor store and a few restaurants were at a stone's throw from the apartment. The tram station for the free city tram(number 35) was a block from the place and the Melbourne free tourist bus stop was about 2 blocks. The view of the harbour from the balcony was priceless with a great view of the skyline and the Etihad stadium. We checked out the pool on the 4th floor which looked great, but didn't get a chance to swim. Will definitely recommend to others visiting melbourne!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you KarthikVugane for reviewing the apartment you stayed in and the location at Docklands Melbourne. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    44
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at this property in a one bedroom apartment during the week for two nights. The price of accommodation was reasonable at around $170 per night. The location was good as it was across the road from the harbour and public transport. The accommodation itself was average. Advertised was a 'small balcony', which is fine. However, the balcony floors are metal grates- same as those over drains- which leaves you exposed to the balconies above and below you (especially from falling cigarette ash and if you decide to wear a dress). Upon checking out, we ensured that the apartment was tidy, rubbish removed and dishes washed (a few items were getting finished in the dishwasher in a cycle that wouldn't be done before 1000hrs) and still we were charged $50 'extra cleaning fee'. I'm sorry but vacuuming and having to unload a dishwasher does not amount to 'extra cleaning'. If the room had a vacuum cleaner I would have used it. Upon check-in, it took a total of 20mins for the staff to: do the paperwork, find me a carpark (which ended up being taken and they had to put me in a different spot and asked me to move it later-unacceptable). I asked for two sets of keys and when forgotten to issue them to me, I had to come back down to reception to obtain it. For the reputation the Docklands Apartments have, this is definitely on the lower end of the scale for their collection.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked an apartment as we wanted a bit more space and flexibility than a hotel room, and we were really pleased we stayed here. Great location with a tram stop outside, great restaurants within walking distance (woolshed pub, nine elephants, curry vault) we were there for ten days, and really appreciated the amount of storage in the bedroom as it meant we could unpack completely, put our suitcases away and feel like we lived there. We arrived after the office had closed, and we were a bit nervous about how we would get the keys etc, but there was a lovely lady that had been working late that assisted us as soon as she spotted us outside. The complementary teabags and milk were a lovely touch as it meant we could have a cuppa before heading out to the supermarket for supplies and wine. (coles and wine shop 10 minutes walk away at southern cross station) we are really pleased we stayed here and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor, and were given 704a which was a top floor corner apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello anon71, thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and delighted you found Docklands to be a convenient location for restaurants, shops, entertainment and transport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

First the Positives.
Location!Location!Location! Great spot close to everything you need.
Views fantastic night or day. Great balcony. Comfy lounge. Onsite undercover parking.
Negatives
Over priced for a outdated apartment. No fans anywhere bedroom like a hot box if you open the window the road noise is horrific.Bed like cement.
Bathroom has a shower over the bath and badly needs updating

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you sheila198 for the review and the positives detailed about our apartments and their location. With regard to your negative comments for this particular apartment, we have addressed these with the owner and scheduled this apartment for an upgrade. We hope you will stay with Docklands Private Collection of Apartments again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ae were in Melbourne primarily for the Australian Open. This location is just perfect, one tram from across the road takes you straight to Rod Laver Arena and is free if you have your tennis tickets on you. Beautiful location on the harbour, choice of restaurants along the promenade or quick tram trip to city for shopping , chinatown etc. Harbourtown shopping centre across the road. We drove to Melbourne but only used our car once to visit a supermarket, the rest of time used great tram service ( don't have to worry about drinking and driving!).
Apartment great (2 bed 1 bath) has everything you need. Terrific view of harbour and city.
Only disappointing thing was the pool as it was very cold. When I booked i thought it was heated but it wasn't. Even though we had warm weather ( one day over 40 degrees) it was still freezing. To make it more comfortable it needs to be heated all year round. My 13 year old was a little disappointed in this however my 15 year old loved the gym!
Loved our stay we will definately be going back next year.

Soussa Family

Room Tip: look for harbour/ city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Linda S, we are delighted you chose Docklands Private Collection for your stay in Melbourne during the Aus Open and that the location was perfect for you. With regard to the pool temperature, we have brought this to the attention of the building manager who is looking into this matter with maintenance as the pool should be 'warm' and pleasant to swim at this time of the year as it is heated. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the top floor of the Sant Elia building overlooking the marina. Booking was easy, the managers give great instructions on how to find the office and even come and personally show you where to park and show you to the apartment. The apartment complex has great security and the parking is undercover and secure too.
The apartment was beautiful, very clean and spacious with a big balcony and amazing views. Two tv's with foxtel, very nicely furnished and really well equipped with everything we needed. Lots of bench and cupboard space in the bedroom and bathroom which was great to be able to spread out a bit.
There's lots of nice places to eat right on the doorstep, we ate at Medici and Berth and can recommend both, great value and the service and food were fantastic.
We loved the location, we felt very safe walking around at night and theres a stop close by for free tram to take into the city.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and definately recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dane73, thank you for your review. We like to make our apartments feel like a 'home away from home' for our guests with the added location of Docklands and all this precinct has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment over Christmas period. The apartment was very clean. Kitchen had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable with clean high quality linen and towels. There were 2 flat screen TVs with basic Foxtel channels. Location was fine for us; it's obviously not in the middle of the city but there are two trams that stop right infront of the apartment and we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a tram even on public holidays. The trip to Bourke St mall was only 5 minutes. There was a small IGA supermarket right outside the apartment. The gym and the pool were great. We felt at home and it was a great apartment for our group of friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn K, General Manager at Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your review of the apartment and facilities RachSydney2010, we strive to make our apartments feel like a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Docklands Private Collection of Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docklands Private Collection of Apartments

Address: 41 Caravel Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 112 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Docklands Private Collection of Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and enjoy the vibrant, cosmopolitan waterfront experience surrounding Docklands Private Collection of Apartments in Melbourne. We provide short and long term accommodation to corporate travellers and visitors to Melbourne. We have a rnage of 1,2,3 bedroom self contained apartments at NewQuay and Digital Harbour, the heart of Docklands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Docklands Private Collection of Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Docklands Private Collection of Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;