We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great games exhibition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australian Centre for the Moving Image

Australian Centre for the Moving Image
Flinders Street | Federation Square, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
(03) 8663 2583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 207 attractions in Melbourne
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Gallery featuring innovative contemporary and historic Australian screen-based art through interactive exhibits, large-scale projections, computer animations and digital media.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great games exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Loved the 80's section of the games exhibition, had a blast playing Donkey Kong in its original format.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    125
    28
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Free and fun. Downstairs their are three free galleries with exhibitions but the hands on history of the moving image is great. Various artefacts support the clips of film history. Very thorough. Then they Have a sensory area with 3-D, Matrix motion capture, animation, shadow puppets. It's all hands on. The is a whole section on gaming with the games for you to play and a future section. It's all with an Aussie spin and the representation area was great, I had no idea just how involve Australia was.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Captured my imagination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I took visiting O/Sea's relatives to visit the Aust Centre for the moving Image, during a day out in Melbourne. A must see for tourists and Melbournians alike. I thought it would just be good for the "visitors" to our fair city but it certainly captured my interest too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Strip
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Love the interactive spaces here, new exhibitions and great place to visit for the whole family. Many of the general spaces are free so great if the budgets a bit tight.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hands on Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

While the exhibition/museum has been going for quite a while in the ACMI building, I always find something new with the kids every time we visit. Its great fun, but younger kids may find some sections a little disturbing (weird noises and images). Its a great collection of Australian "things" associated with very famous movies and TV shows - definitely worth a visit - AND ITS FREE!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian Centre for the Moving Image also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Australian Centre for the Moving Image? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australian Centre for the Moving Image, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.