We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel

Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
405 St. Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location & good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I see a lot of people bagging this place but it is in a great location within walking distance to the CBD, galleries & parks and is great value and if you ask nicely, you can get some off street parking. Sure the decor is outdated and the roof leaks a bit but it's an old building with character. We have stayed 3 times. I just tried to ring for our next visit but doesn't appear to be open at the moment????

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We needed an overnighter within walking distance of Melbourne's CBD (we don't mind an exercising walk; you might prefer the tram!), with off-street parking at a reasonable rate. The APMBH looked about right and proved to be the case.
As long as you're not expecting newly furbished slickness and are primarily interested in a good night's sleep at a reasonable cost, this place is fine. The room and en-suite were both large and reasonably well-appointed, given the price paid.
The reproduction period furniture didn't quite work for us, and the whole place could use a freshen up. But, for the price we aren't complaining.
Would we stay again? Given the same set of requirements - yes.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth the bit of extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located on St Kilda Rd just down from the Shrine of Remembrance and near the Botanical Garden, this is a great location for exploring Melbourne. Good tram connections to CBD and St Kilda. Reasonably priced, for Melbourne. Our room, no 8, had none of the problems mentioned in other reviews - on the back of the hotel, with no view, but quiet. Tea and coffee-making facilities provided but no breakfast included in the rate. Pay laundry facilities available on site. Wifi worked wel. There are cafes close by for breakfast. Based on our experience, we would recommend this as an affordable place to stay in Melbourne

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after googling accom near Rod Laver Arena. Perfect location - 20 minute walk to the Arena. Room size was great, bathroom was a little grubby, mould in grout, corners etc looked a though it needed a good scrub and bleaching! Overall for budget, we didnt have high expectations, and got what we paid for. Staff were quite helpful, couldn't fault them though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I don't often feel inclined to write a review on trip advisor but our experience was not a terribly pleasant one and I wish to advise others to avoid here if possible. Very outdated and dirty, rooms and bathroom need a good clean and upgrade. We also had a room facing the road and found it difficult to sleep with all the notice from St Kilda Road. Owner was also not helpful when we broached the subject. You're better off staying at a backpackers if you're on a budget.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We used one of the need it in a hurry websites to find this motel. It only got worse from then on.
We should hae researched the motel more BEFORE booking.
After booking realised the "cheaper" rate we booked was the same as regular the regular rate. Not happy!
We arrived at 4.00pm to be be advised we weren't expected until the next day. Not happy!
However the management did have a vacancy, no wonder, the place is a cross between a geriatric hospital and Fawlty Towers.
As others have commented, the place was previously a hospital and very little has changed.
I don't like being in hospital and I didn't like being here either.
We had a room facing the main road.
The room smelt musky and damp, in fact the whole place had a smell to it. Carpet is well worn, plastic shrubbery is covered in dust, there is no ambience to this place at all. No wonder there were few images of the facilities on their website.
We couldn't close the curtains and had the night lights from the street streaming in all night.
We had coffee making facilities, but no power to plug the jug into. Had to use the beside table to connect to a plug in the power board. Not sure what Occ Health & Safety issues are in place! There is no toaster to make toast for a BYO breakfast.
Television reception was intermittent - ranging from good, to pixelated, to loosing signal, to back to good. If you're watching with any intent don't bother!
Walls were dirty and marked, mirror frame in the bathroom had paint flaking off. There was mould/fungus in the shower recess, the shower caddy was rusting. The air-conditioner was connected to an extension cord plugged into the power board. The ceiling fan is turned on/off by pulling a shoelace.
How by any stretch of the imagination this place could be rated three stars is beyond me.
For me giving it any star rating is being generous.
If by chance you read this review before booking, consider yourself lucky.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I used this hotel for the first time as the last night of a business and social visit to Melbourne. Having booked this room as a 3 star, i must say i was disappointed. Whilst the bed was a 4 poster, it inhibited the view of the tv. most power outlets were by extension lead, which was somewhat of an inconvenience. water stains on the walls and fungus on grout in the bathroom. As a positive, it was conveniently located and reasonably priced. The is a similar styled hotel close by which I'd prefer to use in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 405 St. Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albert Park Manor Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.