We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel

Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel
405 St. Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Colonial Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We chose to stay close to the Melbourne CBD. Thought that St Kilda Rd wound be cool and it was. The Hotel was decorated from a colonial aspect quite cute and romantic. The host was informative explaining to us the places we could access easily from the hotel. The room had a great bed and bathroom provisions. We enjoyed our melbourne stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a four week trip to Australia. It cost $90 pn. Owner Tony was very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early no problem. Alltough we had paid for the cheapest room (five rooms shared 2 bathrooms), Tony gave us a much better en suite room at no extra cost. Hotel is an old private hospital with very high ceilings and wide staircases. You can park free in a little court yard at the rear, or if that is full there is steert parking. They don't do food but there are 4 decent cafes and a MacDonalds right outside. The location, at the junction of St kilda Road and Toorak Road West is good with trams to the city right outside. We were more than satisfied.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

It's all said in the title. We stayed here for one night when we first arrived in Melbourne. It's a short tram ride away from Federation Square (and is even walkable); we were welcomed warmly and upgraded rooms because there was a better one vacant; the room was very clean (the ensuite bathroom was modern and spotless).

A little pricey, but in line with other Melbourne hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of Jan 2011, room was very small but clean, shared bathroom but I paid less for that option so no worries there. Bathroom was clean and never occupied when I wanted it.
Staff pleasant enough.
Location is great as tram stop is right out the front and only about 5 stops to the city or maybe 8 or 9 to St Kilda heading in the other direction.
If all you're after is a bed for the night, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We chose to stay at the Albert Park Manor mainly because it was conveniently located close to relatives in South Yarra. And at A$125 for a deluxe room it was very reasonably priced. However I wouldn't describe as a boutique hotel but more of a guest house as there are no restaurant or breakfast facilities. It was built as a hospital and has that utilitarian feel. It is on a main road and unfortunately we had a room on the front which despite the double glazing was noisy at night. However on the plus side the manager is very helpful, there is free parking and it is conveniently located - walking distance to the wonderful botantical gardens, a short tram ride to the main shopping district and good cafes nearby for meals. If you want to stay in this area and need just a bed, then I would recommend it but do ask for a room at the back away from the road.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

stayed here for 3 nights while traveling around east coast, about 15 min walk to centre of city , bout the same to the mcg cricket ground, tram stop right outside hotel to st kilda beach, some cafe's near hotel and shops , rooms little dated , so are bathrooms but both perfectly fine, the family that owns this hotel also own the shop nextdoor so always someone on hand for any queries, me and the family would stay here again if in melbourne .

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

We spent two nights at Albert Park Manor. Whilst it wasn't a bad hotel, it didn't live up to our expectations.

The hotel is very outdated and the photos in the brochure didn't come close to the real thing (mind you this is to be expected anywhere). The staff were courteous, but were hardly around; in fact we had to check out at the attached shop.

We stayed in a Deluxe Ensuite room. It faced St Kilda Road and we were woken each morning by the trams. Room had a bed, television (poor reception), fridge, desk and sofa. The tiny ensuite had a toilet, vanity and shower. The ensuite was desperately in need of a refurbishment. Apart from its age, the shower was a highlight - the water pressure and temperature was close to the best I've experienced anywhere.

We chose the hotel as we had an event to attend at the Botanic Gardens. For this it was perfectly located. It's not far from the city either (10 minute tram ride) although if you're solely interested in seeing the city, there are better and cheaper options in the CBD.

There's a McDonalds, a Subway and a few cafes/restaurants within close proximity and many more down Toorak road or in the city.

There's no proper car park for the hotel, although there's room for two or three cars near the back entrance, which is locked up at night and available free of charge.

We wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 405 St. Kilda Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albert Park Manor Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Park Manor Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.