We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely clean and friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge City Square Motel to your Saves list
Econo Lodge City Square Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly The City Square Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Extremely clean and friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here with two kids and my friend, we booked using online provider that did not advertise rooms honestly ( advertised as queen plus double sofa) Rita sorted us out and I would recommend dealing directly with them to save this problem. Any how we were booked into a different room consisting of queen and single bed plus a single sofa. The room was spotless and smelt good. There was no noise between the rooms nor the bathroom as there was a nifty dual door set up, plenty of hot water for showers and baths. The location is fantastic, just out the front door and your on the CBD, eateries and trams at the doorstep. Just want to reinforce the cleanliness again, it was a very pleasant experience thanks Rita, With kindness Haidee

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
33
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mena Creek, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have stayed here a few times before and found it suited our needs for a budget price.
Our most recent trip was an overnighter. This particular room has had a makeover and was neat and clean. On the second floor overlooking Swanston St., we didn't find the noise too bothersome.
My one complaint is taking a $250 security deposit ( nearly twice the room rate) which they did advise at the time of checking in would be held for a week (I think this is excessive, personally) but now, ten days later, they still have not released it.
For travellers on a budget, holding this sum back for this length of time makes the affordability questionable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD. Its unfortunate to hear of your issue. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed there in March with two other friends. It is in a great location - close to everything. The room itself is nothing special but the location makes up for it. I definitely recommend this place if you want somewhere cheap right in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've been staying at this budget motel for almost 30 years. It was cheap and clean with friendly staff in an excellent location: a perfect place for me to stay several times a year when in Melbourne. Prices go up, of course, but I still stayed there because they were fixed for any night of the week. Now they follow other places and price according to how much they can get for any given night. Today I did a check for tonight and found the City Square cheapest standard single room is $135, while the Ibis is $139. I stayed at the City Square last week and was feezing cold as the aircon now seems fixed at a low temp and keeps shutting off. The sheets were like boards, so I couldn't wrap the covers round myself to get warm. For $4 extra a night at the Ibis I can get warmth, comfort in bed, Foxtel tv, a light room (instead of a gloomy) and a fridge that has a bar in the door so my milk doesn't fall out every time I open it. I will also get a table/dsk for my laptop, while at the City Square the single rooms only have a very low coffee table so I have to set up the ironing board if I don't want to break my back crouching over it. It's a very disappointing way to end such a long association.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, otherwise you will hear the trams and traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is really disappointing hear about some issues during your stay with us. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is an Econolodge brand hotel. It is a budget hotel with a great location right in the middle of Swanson Street (which does not allow cars.) It is across the street from Town Hall. Swanson street is busy and active both day and night. There are many, many restaurants and stores. This hotel is in the center of all the action.

We stayed in a Queen room. The room was clean and fairly large for a hotel in the middle of the city. The bath was good and bed comfortable. There was a refrigerator, kettle and toaster in the room. They provide a “light” breakfast which means tea or instant coffee and 2 slices of white bread for each person. They do provide butter and vegemite. There is a laundry facility: 2 washers and 2 dryers. They worked well.

There is not 24 hour coverage at the front desk so if you plan to arrive very late be aware. The hotel is in the middle of the block on Swanson Street. Cars are not allowed on Swanson so if you arrive by taxi you will be dropped off at the end of the block and need to walk carrying your luggage the ½ block to the hotel. I share this in case you have limited mobility or a lot of luggage.

I would stay here again.

If you find this review helpful, I would appreciate a helpful vote. Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from Swanson Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and had wonderful time in the CBD.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We checked in at 9pm when we got to our room the internal light wouldn't turn on and when it finally turned on it power surged from completely off to on for 5minutes before working, the power point box had a 20cent piece size hole in it with wires exposed, with hubby being an electrician this is not safe. The air con was covered in dust. I am fully aware you get what you pay for in room look and amenities however safety in this hotel is dangerous. The maintenance man would accused us of damaging the power point and refused to speak to me even though the booking was in my name. When asking to be moved to another room for the night whilst it gets fixed tomorrow they advised the last room was taken by a walk in, the refused to refund out money so we could stay somewhere else and refused to have the manager contact us. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is really disappointing hear about some issues during your stay with us. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location. The rooms were large, modern and clean. All staff were very friendly and parking was available nearby. Unfortunately, the noise coming from outside the room was just terrible. We were only able to sleep a few hours each night. We expected some noise being central Melbourne city but the amount was incredible. I wouldn't stay here again, unless they installed some sound proof windows and walls!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shontinelle d, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge City Square Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is really disappointing hear about some issues during your stay with us. We will definitely look into this and rectify it for future.

Kind Regards,
Shontinelle Daji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Address: 67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly The City Square Motel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square Motel. Located in the heart of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne
City Square Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge City Square Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.