We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The City Square Motel

Save Saved
You added The City Square Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The City Square Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location but never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The location is unbeatable. The price is so affordable but still not worth what you get. The rooms are unloved and unclean and in desperate need of updating and maintenance. The air conditioner was pointless and kept us up all night with its shocking noise. The bed and furnishings were less than average. The staff are almost never around and the check in "gentleman" was rude, condescending and sarcastic. Tough situation when there are noisy guests in the middle of the night or other issues. Wouldn't even consider this place again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    60
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
30
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This budget motel is in a very central locaion in the CBD & is in waking distance to most Melbourne highlights.
The rooms are large but very basic, the bathroom smelt funny & wasn't the cleanest i've been in but for the price I really couldn't complain.

The noise from the trams on Swanston St were a little annoying late at night (as was the pedestrian noise). I personally wouldn't stay there again unless I'm in Melb just for 1 night & was alone.
Great for the budget traveller/backpacker.

Room Tip: Stay up as high as possible to minimise the tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

after staying on my last visit to melbourne at a budget hotel on spencer street ,i was not expecting much from the city square motel.iwas wrong ,the room was small but the room was spotless the toilet and shower area was sparkling clean and the bed was super comfortable.check in and out was quick and easy and the location is close to everything you could possibly need.if you a looking for a basic motel room then you should consider this motel .there is some motels in melbourne that are way below standard ,this is not one of them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm writing this while I'm in my hotel room. First, there is no one at the reception past 10 p.m. so it is impossible to address any issues after staff leaves for the night. My room isn't clean. I found food from the previous occupant in the mini-fridge and there is no duvet cover on the duvet. The pillows are awful-all three of them are flat, yet very lumpy. I have had to abandon them entirely and will improvise with a towel and sweatshirt. Perhaps, the worst offense in this room is that the A/c unit and the mini-fridge make loud clicking noises. I unplugged the frige, but there is no such option for the A/c (even in the off state, it makes noises). I fear sleep will be impossible tonight! If only there was someone on staff to address these issues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Melbourne as it's exactly (and all) I need. A block from Flinders St Stn and St Paul's Cathedral, and 1 1/2 blocks from Bourke St Mall. I attended a concert at the Victorian Arts Centre which is walking distance across Prices Bridge. I usually get upgraded to a room looking over Swanston St - you get some late-night chat from the cafes across the road, but with the double-glazed windows and aircon/heater on, you barely hear it enough to disturb sleep. The aircon is self-controlled and easy to operate - not like the modern switches which, in other hotels, don't change temperature at all. I was in 638 which has a queen and single, with a dressing area leading to the bathroom. Shower was over bath but at least the taps were outside the bath area, alongside the sink, so easy to adjust temperature. The bath was a bit chipped, but this is an old hotel (and I only used the shower anyway), so it didn't bother me. Reception is just a doorway in from the street so quite misleading - the rooms are quite large. Think this used to be a Forte hotel back in the day as the lift plaques indicate. You are supplied with a toaster, jug, fridge and microwave and tea making facilities and bread/jams are provided for breakfast. Not much, but you can eat more anywhere outside the door. I have always found the staff wonderful, from booking to checkout!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Augusta, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location Location Location. Great Value, rooms were clean & comfortable. Customer Service was excellent & we were smack bang in the middle of Melbourne. Short walk to everywhere, Trams stop directly out the front door & Flinders Street station not even 1 block away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

When first walking in, it looks like a reception for a hostel. Once up the lift, however, the rooms are good and the building is solid. The staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Right at Swansons and Flinders, it is very close to St. Paul's and Federation Square. This is the location of Stop #2 of the Free Shuttle service around town. I also met my transport for the Great Ocean Road tour here.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Square Motel

Address: 67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Square Motel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square Motel. Located in the heart of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne
City Square Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The City Square Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.