We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location for the Budget Traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge City Square Motel to your Saves list
Econo Lodge City Square Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly The City Square Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Central Location for the Budget Traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This budget motel is in a very central locaion in the CBD & is in waking distance to most Melbourne highlights.
The rooms are large but very basic, the bathroom smelt funny & wasn't the cleanest i've been in but for the price I really couldn't complain.

The noise from the trams on Swanston St were a little annoying late at night (as was the pedestrian noise). I personally wouldn't stay there again unless I'm in Melb just for 1 night & was alone.
Great for the budget traveller/backpacker.

Room Tip: Stay up as high as possible to minimise the tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    64
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
33
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wonthaggi, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

after staying on my last visit to melbourne at a budget hotel on spencer street ,i was not expecting much from the city square motel.iwas wrong ,the room was small but the room was spotless the toilet and shower area was sparkling clean and the bed was super comfortable.check in and out was quick and easy and the location is close to everything you could possibly need.if you a looking for a basic motel room then you should consider this motel .there is some motels in melbourne that are way below standard ,this is not one of them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm writing this while I'm in my hotel room. First, there is no one at the reception past 10 p.m. so it is impossible to address any issues after staff leaves for the night. My room isn't clean. I found food from the previous occupant in the mini-fridge and there is no duvet cover on the duvet. The pillows are awful-all three of them are flat, yet very lumpy. I have had to abandon them entirely and will improvise with a towel and sweatshirt. Perhaps, the worst offense in this room is that the A/c unit and the mini-fridge make loud clicking noises. I unplugged the frige, but there is no such option for the A/c (even in the off state, it makes noises). I fear sleep will be impossible tonight! If only there was someone on staff to address these issues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Melbourne as it's exactly (and all) I need. A block from Flinders St Stn and St Paul's Cathedral, and 1 1/2 blocks from Bourke St Mall. I attended a concert at the Victorian Arts Centre which is walking distance across Prices Bridge. I usually get upgraded to a room looking over Swanston St - you get some late-night chat from the cafes across the road, but with the double-glazed windows and aircon/heater on, you barely hear it enough to disturb sleep. The aircon is self-controlled and easy to operate - not like the modern switches which, in other hotels, don't change temperature at all. I was in 638 which has a queen and single, with a dressing area leading to the bathroom. Shower was over bath but at least the taps were outside the bath area, alongside the sink, so easy to adjust temperature. The bath was a bit chipped, but this is an old hotel (and I only used the shower anyway), so it didn't bother me. Reception is just a doorway in from the street so quite misleading - the rooms are quite large. Think this used to be a Forte hotel back in the day as the lift plaques indicate. You are supplied with a toaster, jug, fridge and microwave and tea making facilities and bread/jams are provided for breakfast. Not much, but you can eat more anywhere outside the door. I have always found the staff wonderful, from booking to checkout!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Augusta, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location Location Location. Great Value, rooms were clean & comfortable. Customer Service was excellent & we were smack bang in the middle of Melbourne. Short walk to everywhere, Trams stop directly out the front door & Flinders Street station not even 1 block away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

When first walking in, it looks like a reception for a hostel. Once up the lift, however, the rooms are good and the building is solid. The staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Right at Swansons and Flinders, it is very close to St. Paul's and Federation Square. This is the location of Stop #2 of the Free Shuttle service around town. I also met my transport for the Great Ocean Road tour here.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our teenage daughter for a couple of nights. The room we had was clean and comfortable and the hotel was close to restaurants and inner city attractions. The manager was helpful and gave us some good tips on local amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Square Motel

Address: 67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia (Formerly The City Square Motel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Square Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square Motel. Located in the heart of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne
City Square Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge City Square Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.