We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre location - hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The City Square Motel

Save Saved
You added The City Square Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The City Square Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“City centre location - hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I go to Melbourne as it's exactly (and all) I need. A block from Flinders St Stn and St Paul's Cathedral, and 1 1/2 blocks from Bourke St Mall. I attended a concert at the Victorian Arts Centre which is walking distance across Prices Bridge. I usually get upgraded to a room looking over Swanston St - you get some late-night chat from the cafes across the road, but with the double-glazed windows and aircon/heater on, you barely hear it enough to disturb sleep. The aircon is self-controlled and easy to operate - not like the modern switches which, in other hotels, don't change temperature at all. I was in 638 which has a queen and single, with a dressing area leading to the bathroom. Shower was over bath but at least the taps were outside the bath area, alongside the sink, so easy to adjust temperature. The bath was a bit chipped, but this is an old hotel (and I only used the shower anyway), so it didn't bother me. Reception is just a doorway in from the street so quite misleading - the rooms are quite large. Think this used to be a Forte hotel back in the day as the lift plaques indicate. You are supplied with a toaster, jug, fridge and microwave and tea making facilities and bread/jams are provided for breakfast. Not much, but you can eat more anywhere outside the door. I have always found the staff wonderful, from booking to checkout!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    61
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
30
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Augusta, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location Location Location. Great Value, rooms were clean & comfortable. Customer Service was excellent & we were smack bang in the middle of Melbourne. Short walk to everywhere, Trams stop directly out the front door & Flinders Street station not even 1 block away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

When first walking in, it looks like a reception for a hostel. Once up the lift, however, the rooms are good and the building is solid. The staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Right at Swansons and Flinders, it is very close to St. Paul's and Federation Square. This is the location of Stop #2 of the Free Shuttle service around town. I also met my transport for the Great Ocean Road tour here.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our teenage daughter for a couple of nights. The room we had was clean and comfortable and the hotel was close to restaurants and inner city attractions. The manager was helpful and gave us some good tips on local amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You cannot beat this hotel for location and price. Hotel staff are friendly. Room was small and outdated, but clean. My room was right outside the lift, so I suggest if you decide to book a room here, to request one away from the lift.

Room Tip: As I said, a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the this hotel 15 years ago & was pleasantly surprised on this current stay that some of the rooms have been renovated (they certainly needed it) We were over for a footy final & with accom at a premium - it was nice to still find somewhere that wasn't going to "break the bank". Close to everything - this is a brilliant location especially if you are not spending much time in yur room as the window view hasn't changed...a brick wall!!
Rooms were spotless & had everything we needed...bed was comfy & the shower was large & great pressure/hot water. We will be back :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel & it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times and are very pleased with every thing it has to offer close to the railway station as we travel by train usually and we can leave our bags there for the day so that we do't have to carry them around all day untill it is time for the train.
Tha staff are very nice and helpfull rooms clean and comfy and close to eatery places. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Square Motel

Address: 67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Square Motel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square Motel. Located in the heart of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne
City Square Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The City Square Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.