We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place in a fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The City Square Motel

Save Saved
You added The City Square Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The City Square Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good place in a fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

When first walking in, it looks like a reception for a hostel. Once up the lift, however, the rooms are good and the building is solid. The staff is very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

Right at Swansons and Flinders, it is very close to St. Paul's and Federation Square. This is the location of Stop #2 of the Free Shuttle service around town. I also met my transport for the Great Ocean Road tour here.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    57
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
30
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our teenage daughter for a couple of nights. The room we had was clean and comfortable and the hotel was close to restaurants and inner city attractions. The manager was helpful and gave us some good tips on local amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You cannot beat this hotel for location and price. Hotel staff are friendly. Room was small and outdated, but clean. My room was right outside the lift, so I suggest if you decide to book a room here, to request one away from the lift.

Room Tip: As I said, a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the this hotel 15 years ago & was pleasantly surprised on this current stay that some of the rooms have been renovated (they certainly needed it) We were over for a footy final & with accom at a premium - it was nice to still find somewhere that wasn't going to "break the bank". Close to everything - this is a brilliant location especially if you are not spending much time in yur room as the window view hasn't changed...a brick wall!!
Rooms were spotless & had everything we needed...bed was comfy & the shower was large & great pressure/hot water. We will be back :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel & it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times and are very pleased with every thing it has to offer close to the railway station as we travel by train usually and we can leave our bags there for the day so that we do't have to carry them around all day untill it is time for the train.
Tha staff are very nice and helpfull rooms clean and comfy and close to eatery places. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

An economy hotel so not great luxury but was comfortable and clean and very central. The room was well equipped with fridge and microwave (but just cups and saucers and small plates) a double bed and a sofa bed for the three of us, a small but adequate shower room. its main advantage being right in the centre just a very short walk away from Federation Square was also its disadvantage as the trams run right outside nearly all night and there were buskers singing outside the window til late one night. There's no safe in the room but the the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and looked after our safe bag each day. A great and very central option if you just want an economical base to explore the city from - all in all it was fine so would recommend it

Room Tip: If it's possible, a room not overlooking the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When on a budget and you are intending to explore the city side of Melbourne, the City Square is a fully functional and relatively a good option. The rooms are clean and is adequately equipped with toasters, tea & coffee supplies and has comfortable bedding. And, of course their friendly staff are more than available to guide you for any information required. The location is ideal as most things one would like to do are easily accessible. One thing to remember is their front-office shuts at 8 p.m. If you are likely to reach there to check in later than 8 p.m., a call to inform them is very essential so that they will advice how you could get in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The City Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Square Motel

Address: 67 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Square Motel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Square Motel. Located in the heart of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The City Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Square Hotel Melbourne
City Square Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The City Square Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.