We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Miami Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Miami Hotel Melbourne
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Value for Money Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in the first week of June. After an overnight flight, we hired a car a the airport and reached the hotel. While our checkin was supposed to be after noon, the reception was very forthcoming to check us in early in the morning(around 9-10 am). We had a free car park for the duration of our stay. The room was on the 3rd floor, and we needed to climb two levels of stairs(no lifts). However, the room was one of the renovated rooms and it was in excellent condition. Room was big, but the attached bath/toilet was small, just sufficient. The beds were comfortable. We found the reception staff to be particularly helpful in directing us around, well knowledgeable and professional in what they were doing. There is a separate kitchen which has all cooking gadgets, so we did a lot of cooking inhouse during our stay. Not far from the hotel is super market where we could find everything required for cooking. We found this the right choice for us, considering we had to stay/cook/looking for value.

Room Tip: Look for the recently renovated rooms. Our room on the top floor had a view to the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    162
    42
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
114
46
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surin, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A good value, comfortable clean friendly place in a good location and had parking included. Room was not huge but all I needed. A short stroll to Victoria market and not too far to walk to Melbourne CBD and the free tram. They were doing some renovations, but it all stopped at night. Would recommend it unless you want a big flash place for $200 a night.

Room Tip: Sort of top end backpackers hotel. Everything I needed for my overnight in Melbourne. Plenty of eati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Vic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We only needed a bed to sleep in. Our room included king and 2 x singles. As we were going to the football with two small children, we didn't get back to our room until 11.00 then left at 9.00 the next morning, so it was perfect for what we required.
Room was spotless and staff were very friendly.
The room was a little noisy from the passing traffic, but so be it.
Parking was extra $9 so total cost of one night was $164 for a family of 4, so that's not bad.
15 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, with a stop of at the Royal Mail Hotel for some dinner before the game.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

After a 12 hour train and bus and taxi journey from Adelaide I arrived at this hotel. It really was a most uninviting and depressing experience to drag my suitcase up what seemed an unending flight of scruffy stairs and along a gloomy corridor all of which needed a new carpet to a claustrophobic room. The hotel seemed to be situated in a scruffy residential area and I don't think there was anywhere nearby to buy food or drink to make matters worse, there was no drink making kit in the room and in the morning I begged a cup of coffee from some students who seemed to be self catering in a kitchen only thanks to a helpful apologetic receptionist.
I don't think this place has any right to call itself a hotel, it is more of a lodging house.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersKel, General Manager at Miami Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review,
Our property is in a residential area, a very quiet, safe and quaint area of Melbourne, with significant historic value, and appeal. Hardly drab and depressing, and very close to the Victoria Market, Public transport and a range of cafes, bakeries and restaurants. Errol Street North Melbourne is across the road (a 2 min walk) with banks, supermarket, chemist, 7Eleven and all your everyday conveniences.
Our en-suite rooms are advertised with tea/coffee facilities in the room, our economy rooms (now closed for renovation and have been since late Jan 2014) were a backpacker style room, without tea/coffee facilities in the room. The self catering kitchen, is for just that, self catering, bring your own food and cater for yourself. We also have a coffee bar open daily for coffee, breakfast and a range of sweet treats.
Miami Hotel Melbourne clearly advertises that our rooms are on 3 levels, ground, first and second floors, up stairs and no lift. However, 2 flights of stairs to the second floor is hardly never ending. And as far as corridors go in 44 year old buildings ours are wide, freshly painted, well lit and the oldest carpet is 2 years old.
After 44 years of trade and numerous awards, yearly visits from AAA Star Ratings and external accreditation we have every right to call ourselves a hotel.
You only need to look at our very many positive reviews to know we are friendly, clean and mostly meet / exceed the expectations of our guests.
I guess we can't please everyone, and in this case we have not been able to meet your expectations, for that I am sorry.
I do feel however, that your feedback is somewhat harsh and misleading.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room for 6 nights and really enjoyed our stay from start to finish.
Staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. They made sure we had everything we needed. We had just arrived in Melbourne and they were very informative about directions and points of interest. The room was nice and clean. The communal kitchen area was also quite nice and had everything we needed.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone from backpackers to families.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Not fancy, but clean, reasonably well located, and comfortable for our family of four. The two room suite is especially nice for a family with children. Nearby streetcar service makes for easy travel to the CBD. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I arrived after midnight, and was greeted with a warm and friendly welcome which was much appreciated.
The hostel is clean and comfortable enough for a long stay. I had a fridge in my room, and the shared kitchen was on the floor above. The kitchen is small, but it was fine for me. All the staff are friendly and helpful, and readily booked my tour and transfer and advised on things to do locally.
There is noise from the corridor but you can get that in any hotel anywhere in the world.

There is a really nice area for breakfast and food shopping within a 5 minute walk. Also, the nearest tram stop is here. I can recommend Hot Poppy for breakfast. It’s very popular with everyone, and easy to appreciate why. The food, service and choice of chilled out beats is awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hotel Melbourne

Address: 13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Hotel Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hotel Melbourne is located on the Northern fringe of the city, close to Etihad Stadium, Docklands, Queen Victoria Market, public transport and everyday conveniences, it's the perfect base for travelers on a budget. As a 3.5 Star family operated property, Miami Hotel offers personal, friendly service and value for money.Winner of the 2006 Australian Tourism Award for Excellence in Standard accommodation, the Miami Hotel offers award winning service at a bargain price, and without skimping on facilities.Please note: This property has rooms located on the Ground, First and Second floors of the building and does not have a lift. Please request in the comments section if you require a Ground floor room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Miami Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Motel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.