We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean and convenient especially for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Miami Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Miami Hotel Melbourne
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great, clean and convenient especially for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 nights in the MIAMI Hotel and was pleasantly surprised. As our son lives nearby we had passed it often but never stayed, although we always noticed how clean it looked. We had a twin room on the ground floor. The room itself was quite spacious and exceptionally clean, as was the shower. It all looked newly renovated. A remote for the air con would have been good as we didn't know we could get one from reception until we got into bed at 1am but able to stand on bed and turn it off. The room was lovely and warm when we arrived however. Reception was efficient and friendly. The room was very quiet despite being near the car park. Double glazing maybe? I have stayed in much worse for double the price. Will stay here whenever we come to Melbourne in future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    141
    39
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
99
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was far better than we expected it to be! We paid roughly £20 each a night for a double room, we were given comfy beds, a tv, a fridge, air conditioning and clean towels. The room was spacious and clean. The place was fairly quiet in the hallways etc but once your bedroom door was closed it was pretty much silent which was good and meant we slept well.
We arrived at 3am and the guy on reception was really friendly and welcoming, so straightaway we knew it'd be a nice stay. There was one man on reception (George) who was the most helpful and charismatic person I've ever met! We were given maps and told where supermarkets were, given a brief summation of what Melbourne has to offer and we got coffee vouchers as their café has just opened! The place also recommend two tours for Phillip Island and Great Ocean Road, we went for the latter and it was great. So thanks Miami Hotel for telling us to go for that one!
We were able to store baggage here after check-out and booked an airport shuttle bus through them too.
Really friendly helpful staff and a genuinely nice place to stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Rooms were very tiny for over $100 a night. Room smelt overly sweet as there were 2 air freshners in there. Pillows were also very high so I ended up taking them off and sleeping without as it gave me a sore neck.

Reasonable location, it was about a 15 min walk into Melbourne central, and near a tram stop.

Ask for a room away from the front of the property as its quite a busy street and we heard cars all night.

Staff were exceptional and very helpful, they happily let us check in early. Also got discount coffee cards from them.

If you manage to get it for about $70 it would probably be higher rated.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter away from busy traffic sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've stayed at a few budget hotels in Melbourne. None of them dreadful but most had some kind of noise problem. This was a good find. It's sufficiently out of the centre to be quiet. Sleep quality was great. But still close to Victoria Market, and easy to get anywhere via the 57 tram, which stops a short distance from the hotel. Some okay eateries in the nearby main street of North Melbourne if you don't feel like travelling further., although downtown eateries are only a short tram ride away. The room was compact but not cramped, with adequate storage space and efficient use of available space. Friendly, cheerful reception staff. To the person who complained about copying of ID and credit card details, this is fairly normal practice in Australia. I've recently spent two months in Italy, where by law every hotel has to take your passport or ID details and report to the police that you're with them. Thank your stars that we don't have this kind of policing.
My only serious caveat is that for people with heavy luggage or with a physical disability the lack of a lift may be a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I brought a group to the Miami in June for the Lions rugby tour. The assistance I had before, during and after our stay from Kelly and her team was first class.The staff simply can't do enough for you and are only concerned that you enjoy your time there.
The hotel is well situated for all that the city has to offer and either a short walk or even shorter tram ride will get you everywhere.
Please use this hotel, they deserve it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

On your arrival you will be asked to produce your passport or driver license. Before you know they will take a copy of your ID. They explained there are 5 different receptionists so every time you arrive in hotel they will have to check the photo is that really you. I paid my accommodation by credit card. So conclusion is that 5 different receptionist will have a personal info on my bank account and my date of birth.
Once you get your room key it should be fine. There is no need to take a copy of your ID.

Room Tip: They doing refurbishment on the ground floor. They also change a price every day.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersKel, General Manager at Miami Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback.
The collection of photo ID and Credit Card details at check in are requirements of checking in at this hotel, and is fairly standard as far as check in requirements go through out the industry.

These details are collected for a few reasons, so we have photo of all guests, helps if staff need to chase up a guest for some reason, if there is a fire, so emergency services have photo if there is a need to try to find an individual, for security reasons (in case of an incident) and in case of damages to the hotel or room.

I'm sorry if asking for these items at check in has offended you, as we also accommodate many groups of minors, we are extremely careful to ensure our check in requirements are met.

The ID details collected are kept under lock and key, Credit card information is encrypted in our system and no paper copy of details are kept, only management (3 people) are able to read credit card details, limiting staff access. Staff all have met a police check / working with children check requirements and all systems are audited and comply with current regulations for storing such information.

I hope outside of the check in requirements, the rest of your stay was pleasant.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Kelly S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in ensuite single room; near the stairs and next to the laundry room, but very quiet. Room was not spacious but neatly designed with one corner to keep your luggage and metal drawer for your clothes. Very clean and comfortable, with cable TV and tea/coffee available. Good location (available for free hotel transfer by the airport bus), walking distance to the city center and the famous Victoria Market (great food!). I felt safe walking in the evening but tram stop is also around the corner. Ask the hotel reception to get the public transport ticket. Luggage storage is available after check out. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miami Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hotel Melbourne

Also Known As:
Miami Motel Melbourne
Address: 13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Hotel Melbourne 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hotel Melbourne is located on the Northern fringe of the city, close to Etihad Stadium, Docklands, Queen Victoria Market, public transport and everyday conveniences, it’s the perfect base for travelers on a budget. As a 3.5 star family operated property, Miami Hotel offers personal, friendly service and value for money.Winner of the 2006 Australian Tourism Award for Excellence in Standard accommodation, the Miami Hotel offers award winning service at a bargain price, and without skimping on facilities.Please note: This property has rooms located on the Ground, First and Second floors of the building and does not have a lift. Please request in the comments section if you require a Ground floor room. Economy rooms are all on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Miami Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.