We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accomodation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Miami Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Miami Hotel Melbourne
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great budget accomodation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had two rooms in this hotel for 3 nights, one family room for our family of 4 and a double room for my wife's parents. Both rooms were what we expected for the price, nothing fancy but they had everything we needed and were warm and comfortable. Our family room consisted of two main rooms plus the bathroom, with a king bed in one and two single in the other. The rooms were not very spacious, the king bed seemed to take up a lot of room, so don't stay here if you like a room with plenty of space. However we didn't mind, especially since we spent most of our time out and about, as we normally do in Melbourne to make the most of it. Each room had a small heat pump which kept the place nice and cosy, in fact we turned ours off altogether one night as we got too warm. Was quiet as well except for a bit of noise from people coming and going from other rooms. The dispensers for shampoo, hand wash, etc in the bathroom are a great idea.
The location of this place is quite good, but we did have a car so didn't use public transport. However I was told it is only about a block away from the free tram, and I think it would be about a 20 minute walk to the CBD. It is close to some shops, including an IGA supermarket which we used a couple of times. The only negative I could say was the car park was difficult for the large Kia van we had, a lot of the spots are only suitable for smallish cars. However we always managed to get it in, and the parking was included free with the accommodation unlike most of the CBD hotels who charge quite a lot at times.
I think what made our stay here was the customer service, everyone on the front desk was friendly and more than happy to help when needed. A lot of more expensive hotels could learn something from these guys. We were also lucky enough to score breakfast with our deal, this was a continental breakfast in the café at the front. This was great, and the service from Katarina in the café was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble, and the coffee is highly recommended.
If you are after some great budget accommodation while in Melbourne this place is worth a try. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    164
    42
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
114
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The room is very clean and quiet. Free 250mb internet every day, so that's enough to browse maps and attractions in Melbourne or post updates on Facebook about the city.
The location is not very good. It's a bit far from the CBD and transportation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I got a room with a double bed. It is perfect for what I want - a comfortable bed, affordable wireless internet plans, tv and secure carpark. It is great to have 24 hour reception because I arrived close to midnight. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The room is quite small - the bed takes up most of the available space so probably not ideal if you like a lot of room to move around, but it is fine for my purposes. A particular highlight is the bathroom design - there is a step up to the shower which means that the bathroom stays nice and dry when you have a shower. The location is good - just down the road is a live stand-up comedy lounge, cafes and an IGA. It is a walkable distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My parents and I stayed at the Miami Hotel for two nights this week, and we are glad we did! The hotel is modern, the staff friendly, the rooms everything you could ask for, and the location a stone's throw from the city. It was also very warm, which is important in Winter!

The owner of the hotel (George) was very welcoming, helping us take all of our bags to our rooms. He also gave us information about how to catch the tram (which is six minutes walk from the hotel), and also about the nearby Victoria Park Markets.

We were provided with 250mb of free internet per day, which was good enough quality to skype with, and there is a lot of shampoo/conditioner/body lotion (even shaving cream!) provided in the bathroom. On the second floor there is also a kitchen which all hotel guests can use, and we used this to cook our breakfast, as well as cook up seafood which we purchased from the Markets nearby.

In our rooms there were two tvs (we hired out a family room of sorts, with two bedrooms) which had access to plenty of channels.

If you are considering staying at a similarly priced hotel, the Miami Hotel is probably the better option based on our experience, as we stayed at multiple hotels in Melbourne and the Miami Hotel was the best one we stayed at. It was also the most affordable - we paid over $200 (AUD) per night for other hotels that were not as nice.

All in all, a great stay. We will be recommending the Miami Hotel to all of our friends and family who decided to travel to Melbourne from New Zealand.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are closer to the kitchen, but there is no lift, so if you have plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel met all our needs for 2 short stays, no complaints.
Good value, welcoming reception and owner.
Rooms comfortable and well equipped.
Would have liked Fox tv, wireless connection worked fine
Airport skybus driver dropped us within yards of the entrance in middle of the night
Cafe and breakfast on the street helped ease us from jet lag
A gentle stroll to the city centre in the day and to free tram and return near entrance again
First impressions of Australia enhanced by incredibly polite other young guests we met on the free trams who were there from the country school with th
Was able to park our campervan securely until needed.
Enjoy.
The Colonel and good lady

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a twin room, nice new clean white bathroom, and bedroom was simple and clean. TV provided with Foxtel and coffee and tea faciliaties. Staff were very helpful with directions, booking taxis and general information.

Taxi to the airport from the hotel was $45.

About 25minute walk from Federation Square.

Nothing really around the hotel.

I researched and this hotel having our own room and bathroom was $20 more than staying in a 12bed hostel sharing a bathroom.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Good value for money. Helpful and friendly staff. I made a mistake with booking with the date. Staff changes date 5 days before with no penalty. Free Wi-fi. Walking distance to Victoria market. Free private parking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Hotel Melbourne

Address: 13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miami Hotel Melbourne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miami Hotel Melbourne is located on the Northern fringe of the city, close to Etihad Stadium, Docklands, Queen Victoria Market, public transport and everyday conveniences, it's the perfect base for travelers on a budget. As a 3.5 Star family operated property, Miami Hotel offers personal, friendly service and value for money.Winner of the 2006 Australian Tourism Award for Excellence in Standard accommodation, the Miami Hotel offers award winning service at a bargain price, and without skimping on facilities.Please note: This property has rooms located on the Ground, First and Second floors of the building and does not have a lift. Please request in the comments section if you require a Ground floor room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Miami Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Motel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.