We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but to small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Muttis - CLOSED

Muttis
118 Elgin Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
03 9349 5008
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $58
Cuisines: Austrian, European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Muttis, a colloquialism for Mother's Kitchen in Austrian-German, is the inspirational flair behind this restaurant and bar.The Central European cuisine is based on hearty, traditional recipes that range from a flavorsome Pork Belly through to delicate dumpling broth. The bar is well stocked with an appealing array of European tap beers and wines, ranging from the finest local produce through to diverse international drops.Muttis is a relaxed, affordable venue that bases itself on the fundamentals of excellent quality for great prices. Whether it's for after work drinks, a snack, or a three course feast, Muttis is always welcoming.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but to small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The food is tasty but the meals were to small. I recommend it to someone who as a small appetite, however I don't recommend it to someone who has a big appetite. After I had a main I felt like that was a snack. The food was lovely but was just to small for me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Muttis Function Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I can easily recommend Muttis function room for your function. The space well set out and organised. The staff were very helpful, especially Philip and Laura. The staff had the space set up as discussed. The canapés that were passed out throughout the evening were fresh and hot. The bar staff kept up with the service for the party guest.
Great venue!
Thanks,
Emily

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you want to have a quality meal in Melbourne this is a place to go......very unassuming from the front but food quality experienced by the group I was with was faultless......
Best meal we have had for a while!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“well done!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we were at muttis' a couple of time 3 years ago, once for october fest and then for a dinner and i vowed i would never go again. i found the food disappointing and overpriced. however, my hubby twisted my arm to accompany him for this year's october fest at muttis and i finally had to say yes just to get him out of depression.
i am so glad i acquiesed because this time the special october fest menu was GREAT! i normally hate bavarian spam, ahem, i mean lieberkasen, but it was as good as in germany! the weiswurst was fantastic. i am ashamed to say that that was all i remember as we had too many beers and the rest was blurry, but i clearly remembered that every dish served was wonderful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was very impressed with Muttis overall! Staff were very friendly and the service was top notch...until the end of the night when they could easily have gotten dessert and/or coffee out of us and never came back to our table once the plates were cleared. But having said that, plates were cleared promptly and all in one go (!wow!), waitress was excellent and the atmosphere was cozy yet energetic. Food was brilliant and very authentic. Loved it and will be back with the German grandparents and mother in law!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muttis also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muttis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.