We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day + amazing company + amazing drinks = a brilliant trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winebus Winery Tours

Winebus Winery Tours
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
61 412 398 566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 197 activities in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The moment you step on a Winebus® tour you’ll know you’re in for a good time. We’re not wine snobs and we’re not into cross-country cruisin' and boozin'. We guarantee a relaxed day of sampling the magnificent wines of the Yarra Valley. We know where the vintages are. Your Winebus® tour guide won’t bore you to tears with statistics, but they will share their knowledge of wine, especially the cool climate wines of Australia’s Yarra Valley. You’ll be visiting four wineries and enjoy a superb restaurant gourmet lunch.Your tour guide will take you on a winery tour of Domaine Chandon, showing you how the bubbles get inside a bottle of bubbly.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing day + amazing company + amazing drinks = a brilliant trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I have nothing bad to say about our day out in the valley. Small group of 4 made for a lovely intimate trip. Paul is incredibly knowledgeable and knows how to show you some of the best the Yarra valley has to offer. Great nibbles at Chandon with a lovely lunch at oak ridge followed by an idly political discussion over tastings at madden's rise. Paul overheard our conversations with our Brittish companions and ended the day with a trip to punt road winery. Best cider I've ever had.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very nice day-trip to Yarra Valley!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I took a full-day wine tour to the Yarra Valley. We visited four wineries: Chandon, Oakridge, Soumah and Madden's Rise.

Chandon was exactly what I expected. Really stunning, beautiful tasting room with ample seating, etc.

I expected more out of Oakridge. This is an award-winning winery, but the facilities were cramped and very noisy. There's no tasting room - our group stood around the counter of their wine/gift shop and the sommelier literally cleared off space on the small counter to make room, we stood during the entire tasting. Then, due to the number of groups, during the tasting the sommelier had to switch back and forth between our group and the group standing next to us. Adding to the noise was an impromptu employee staff meeting taking place behind the counter. The lunch and wines there were very good, however.

Soumah is a boutique winery and we were the only group there. We tasted an impressive number of wines (6-8) and the sommelier was knowledgeable and friendly. We finished with a visit to Madden's Rise. We tasted a long list of wines as well (8).

In terms of the overall experience, I'm used to tours where each winery arranges their own tour guide to meet the group and provides a short tour of the facility before tasting. We only received a tour of Chandon, and the tour was guided by our driver and guide, Paul. We didn't get this at the other 3 wineries - it was more of a tasting-only and tasting-and-lunch visit. No behind-the-scenes tours.

Paul was our driver and guide and he was professional and courteous, we could not have asked for a nicer host! The bus was spotless and not overcrowded. Paul knows a lot about winemaking in the Yarra Valley, and I would definitely recommend this company to others. It appears to cater to smaller groups, and I like that.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wine and fun for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our group visited Melbourne from San Diego, Ca and near Liverpool, England.
We found Paul's wine tour info on Trip Advisor and thought it would be a fun experience so nobody had to drive (from Melbourne City to the winery area). We called late on Thursday, and arranged for our tour the next day. Paul picked us up from the city center at 9:30 am and took care of us the entire day. We were joined by four fun and crazy ladies from New Zealand. He was informative and entertaining too! The visit to Chandon was great, and then we went to the second location where we were entertained by Andrew at Oakridge. The food and wine was fantastic. Andrew is a gem! We visited another two locations (and even tried some cider and purchased some too), before heading back to Melbourne. When we arrived at each location Paul was informative and then left us to enjoy our time there. We never felt rushed, probably because we only attended four wineries. We could have gone to more but defo would not have enjoyed the day as much.

It may seem like a lot to pay for a tour $110 Aus but its worth it. Driven an hour to the winery region, went to Chandon where we toured the property and learned how they make the bubbly, then had a drink and some nibbles. Next we went to Oakridge and had numerous tastings, a really nice meal, and a choice of drink from the tastings plus coffee. We had another two wineries that we attended too.

Thanks for a very fun outing and a memorable experience to our vacation.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely tour, I'd recommend it to anyone looking or a day in the Yarra. Paul was knowledgable and picked great wineries. We really enjoyed starting the day at Chandon with some bubbles. We'll be recommending to all our friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day in the Yarra Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are looking for a fantastic tour out to the Yarra Valley, I would highly recommend the Winebus. My boyfriend and I had a superb time when we did this wine tour on our recent Melbourne holiday.

Paul is a great host and tour guide, and is very friendly and informative! Groups are kept small (there were 9 of us), and this really does enhance the experience for everyone. The relaxed pace of the tour was perfect.

We visited 4 great wineries - Domaine Chandon, Oakridge, Punt Rd and Yering. Domaine Chandon is incredibly beautiful, and we enjoyed a glass of sparkling wine there to begin the day, following a fascinating tour of the winery and the wine-making process. We continued our tasting at Oakridge, where we also enjoyed an a la carte lunch on the patio, overlooking the vineyard. At Punt Rd we had the pleasure of tasting their delicious apple and pear cider, in addition to their wines. We finished with a wine tasting at Yering - they also do a gorgeous fresh apple juice and this was lovely to finish with.

The Winebus offers fantastic value and is a wonderful way to experience the Yarra Valley wineries!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winebus Winery Tours also viewed

 

Been to Winebus Winery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winebus Winery Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Winebus Winery Tours to your Saves list