We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Hotel

Emerald Hotel
415 Clarendon St, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,042 of 4,231 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pokolbin, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I appreciated the fact that when I showed the waitress my lasagna was badly burned (under the sauce), she immediately whipped it away and brought another, which was very good!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great pub, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Emerald Hotel in South Melbourne is an old style pub which doesn't try to attract customers with just pokies but concentrates on great food and service. It attracts an older group of clientelle. We were a group of four looking for a relaxing evening and dinner. The restaurant certainly met all our expectations. I had the duck risotto, my wife the lamb cutlets, both well cooked and very tasty.

One very small criticism; there is a good jazz band playing on Sunday nights but the music was a bit loud. When you go to a venue such as this with friends, the primary aim is to have a good chat. This should not be killed by the volume of the entertainment. Perhaps more frequent brakes in the music should be considered.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Xmas Break up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had our Christmas break up here. Great pub, great food and great service. Good to see there are still pubs around that haven't put in pokies and been ruined.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“South Melbourne's Popular Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Emerald has been a local icon in South Melbourne for may years. Locals are welcomed, and reflect many return visitors. Great food, prompt service and easy parking. As I waited outside on a balmy Melbourne night for my family to arrive, I was offered some freshly made, piping hot, sausage rolls to help me pass the time. What a pleasant surprise and typical of the service inside the restaurant. My family and I will be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Hotel also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Emerald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.