We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, dirty and noisy.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lygon Lodge Carlton

Save Saved
You added Lygon Lodge Carlton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lygon Lodge Carlton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude, dirty and noisy.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Blood on walls. Stains on carpets. No top sheet on bed. Heater did not work. Got abused by owner's friends/family that were sitting by front door (seems they think if they speak Italian, nobody will understand. Wrong). Noisy renovations with hammer drill at 8am and again at 10pm. So much for sleep in. Water was disgusting and brown. After being changed rooms due to heater not working (and making loud noises), found the new room's heater also did not work. Was treated very rudely by staff and told it's highly unlikely that both heaters don't work. He came to the room and found that the heater did NOT work. Faulty remote control. Eventually fixed (got different remote) but no apology for being treated so rudely.
Will NEVER stay here again and would recommend others look for somewhere else if they want peace and quiet or friendly owners / staff.
Very cheap appliances in room. Noisy rooms with bottles being put in bin each morning around 3am (at neighbouring cafe's). Rude / abusive staff / owners.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
17
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great location - so many great restaurants literally at the doorstep. Close to everything.
Rooms were surprisingly quiet - no noise from street, restaurants, traffic etc. Rooms are neat and clean. Only complaint would be that our bed (room 303) was very lumpy and uncomfortable. We woke several times through the night. Other than that, great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenfell, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Great location nice clean rooms the staff were very friendly and helpful will stay here again nice and close to the city and tourist attractions and Lygon Street has great restaurants of all types made for a great stay

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a very nice apartment hotel located in the heart of Italian district and with many restaurants within a short walk. It's also very conveniently located for visiting the city centre, so perfect for tourists like ourselves. The owners were so friendly and helpful, we really felt at home right away. We were even given a bottle of wine, made by a friend of the owner! The room we had was pretty compact, but comfortable, with a kitchen area with cooking facilities. The only downside was that there was nowhere really comfortable to sit, although we didn't have lot of time to sit around on our trip! The room was very clean and modern, the shower was fabulous and overall, we were very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights for work. I was greeted at reception by an older man I believe is the owner and a front desk clerk. Both very friendly and helpful. The owner upgraded me to a queen bed room.
The entry is a little dated and the entrance to the lift is through the car park.
The hallway has been upgraded but a very old lounge outside the lift is terrible.
The room was clean neat and tidy. It had a bed small table and chairs desk and small kitchenette. Bathroom was updated but the room quiet dated.
Each day my bed was remade and towels replaced which I didn't expect but appreciated.
There was no top sheet on the bed, and it was very hard and uncomfortable.
The owner greeted me each time I arrived and left and was always friendly and helpful.
The location was great, but the walk past the restaurants a nightmare with all trying to win your business.
Would stay here again if I'm in Melbourne.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My son and I booked a twin room for an overnight stay in Melbourne. We were absolutely blown away by the location - couldn't be better. Considering it was a Saturday night, we were surprised that we could barely hear any noise from the road. It was a blisteringly hot day (41 degrees!!) but the air conditioner in the room worked like a charm. On the down side, there is limited car parking. Fortunately we checked in not long after 2 PM and were able to secure a spot. I would strongly urge others to do the same - and then leave your car there and catch public transport or walk. The only other negative was the lack of a hair dryer in the room. According to their website there should be a hair dryer in each room and it was a bit annoying that there wasn't. I would definitely stay at the Lygon Lodge again but make sure to check in early to get a car space and ask them for a hair dryer.

Room Tip: There are four floors. Book a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very nice location,. in the heart of Lygon streets restaurants of your choice. clean room and nice and cosy. great value for money. good customer service. I recommend it. I'd stay again if I have a dinner function.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lygon Lodge Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.