We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Needs some work ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lygon Lodge Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lygon Lodge Carlton to your Saves list
Lygon Lodge Carlton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location. Needs some work ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights for work. I was greeted at reception by an older man I believe is the owner and a front desk clerk. Both very friendly and helpful. The owner upgraded me to a queen bed room.
The entry is a little dated and the entrance to the lift is through the car park.
The hallway has been upgraded but a very old lounge outside the lift is terrible.
The room was clean neat and tidy. It had a bed small table and chairs desk and small kitchenette. Bathroom was updated but the room quiet dated.
Each day my bed was remade and towels replaced which I didn't expect but appreciated.
There was no top sheet on the bed, and it was very hard and uncomfortable.
The owner greeted me each time I arrived and left and was always friendly and helpful.
The location was great, but the walk past the restaurants a nightmare with all trying to win your business.
Would stay here again if I'm in Melbourne.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
20
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My son and I booked a twin room for an overnight stay in Melbourne. We were absolutely blown away by the location - couldn't be better. Considering it was a Saturday night, we were surprised that we could barely hear any noise from the road. It was a blisteringly hot day (41 degrees!!) but the air conditioner in the room worked like a charm. On the down side, there is limited car parking. Fortunately we checked in not long after 2 PM and were able to secure a spot. I would strongly urge others to do the same - and then leave your car there and catch public transport or walk. The only other negative was the lack of a hair dryer in the room. According to their website there should be a hair dryer in each room and it was a bit annoying that there wasn't. I would definitely stay at the Lygon Lodge again but make sure to check in early to get a car space and ask them for a hair dryer.

Room Tip: There are four floors. Book a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very nice location,. in the heart of Lygon streets restaurants of your choice. clean room and nice and cosy. great value for money. good customer service. I recommend it. I'd stay again if I have a dinner function.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was worth staying there as it is only a 15 minute walk to the city if you want to or a $10.00 cab ride from Sth Cross station.
Lots of restaurants out side the door in Lygon St.
Staff were helpful.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two days - we were early and needed to store some excess baggage. The desk clerk said they could look after them whilst we stayed over in another part of town. We arrived back the next day (early again!) and we were afforded an early check in ! The staff are fantastic and very helpful if you need advice on local restaurants or attractions. Our room was clean,tidy,all good - ( the TV was a bit small is my only niggle )

Room Tip: Say "Hi" to Bob - you might get a coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had changed from staying in a city hotel for work and tried the Lygon Lodge. Best decision. Bob and the team look after you. great rooms, free car parking and a 24hr reception. I can exercise at Carlton Gardens, breaky anywhere along Lygon and back to a spacious, comfy room. Clean bathroom and I was upgraded to a room with a kitchenette. love the desk area, it made it very easy to get my work done. no complaints. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bright
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love it here. Staff are great. Good rooms. Great value. Good secure parking and an excellent location. There is a great variety of restaurants right outside the front door. And a ten minute walk into the city. An all round excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lygon Lodge Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.