We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most enjoyable stay of our visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lygon Lodge Carlton

Save Saved
You added Lygon Lodge Carlton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Lygon Lodge Carlton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Hull
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The most enjoyable stay of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We did a 3 week tour of parts of Australia in March 2013,visiting relatives & sight seeing.Our accommodation varied immensly but Lygon Lodge stands out as the jewel in the crown.Very friendly welcome,superb clean room with excellent facilities,marvellous location and the nicest of owners. We have never been given a complimentary bottle of wine to take out to our meal before,unfortunately the restaurant suggested was not open that night but if they were friends of Lygon Lodge then no doubt it would have been a great evening.Just wish we could have stayed more than 1 night.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have been refurbished but ask for one of those
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
15
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner an I stayed here for the 1st time to access the Melbourne flower and garden show. Is it 5 star no its not. Was the room we were given ( 217) up to scratch yes it was and it looked out onto Lygon street, had a small balcony on which you could sit and soak up the street view and if you wanted you could sit in your room and soak up the street view through the full length picture window. Initially we were concerned about street noise and if you are sensitive to noise then the front rooms may not be for you but I can honestly say the save for 1 night when a reality TV show Professional Masterchef took over the street right in front of our room and started banging around from 5am in the morning (I have to say the food they knocked up was pretty average) we both got good sleep and enjoyed the streetview.

Were Bob and his staff up to scratch and friendly yes they all were. Could Bob do a Dr Jeckel and Mr Hyde on you probably if you cheese him off but you would probably have to try fairly hard to do so.

Parking is compact so bringing you 4 wheel drive or other large car will at least test your skills if not totally frustrate you so come Italian come compact and you will remain unstressed.

All in all this place had all it advertised for us and more particularly location location location as you can walk, tram and bus into the CBD and beyond.

Room Tip: On Lygon Street if you like to watch the passing parade with a wine in hand and don't mind a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have stayed at this Lodge when renovations were in progress so it was to my disgust that on the next stay when renovations had finished we ended up in a room with mould all over bathroom ceiling plus no top sheet and dirty marked carpet, I will never go back and I do not recommend this place when there is the Downtowner just down the road, the owner was not friendly and seemed to be happy drinking out the front with friends. Never again .

Room Tip: I don't think they have good rooms , sorry for being mean but it is the truth. We had a corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We needed accommodation at last minute and Bob was very helpful and welcoming. The room was clean, beds were comfortable & bathrooms were a good size. Close to a tram stop and only 10mins on the tram (if that) to Flinders Street. Would definitely stay here again - price/location makes it a great find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Booked and paid for through an airline package. Owner did not honour this booking and charged for the room. Said he had no such arrangement with Virgin Australia. Bathroom was smelly too, and there was constant building noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

While parking my car on arrival I was told off by a man who didn't like the way I parked. It turned out to be the owner, at the time I had no idea who he was, he just came up, no introduction, and started bossing me around. Not a great welcome. On the second night the car park was full and I was directed to park in a dark back alley that didn't feel safe. My room overlooked large garbage bins for the surrounding restaurants and they stunk. There was a large air vent outlet for a neighbouring office building which made a continuous loud roar that could not be shut out even when I closed the window. Tiny TV screen mounted high on the wall made it hard to watch. The only bed covering was a quilt with no sheet which was too hot, with nothing light to put on the bed on a warm night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time we have stayed here very clean and comfortable with good service . In a very good position Bob and his family made us very welcome . Bit of a tight fit with the statesman but bob helped us out again he can call me Captain Hook anytime he wants . A very relaxing few days .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lygon Lodge Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.