We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lygon Lodge Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lygon Lodge Carlton to your Saves list
Lygon Lodge Carlton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Lygon Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We needed accommodation at last minute and Bob was very helpful and welcoming. The room was clean, beds were comfortable & bathrooms were a good size. Close to a tram stop and only 10mins on the tram (if that) to Flinders Street. Would definitely stay here again - price/location makes it a great find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbrcate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Booked and paid for through an airline package. Owner did not honour this booking and charged for the room. Said he had no such arrangement with Virgin Australia. Bathroom was smelly too, and there was constant building noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessTurandot17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

While parking my car on arrival I was told off by a man who didn't like the way I parked. It turned out to be the owner, at the time I had no idea who he was, he just came up, no introduction, and started bossing me around. Not a great welcome. On the second night the car park was full and I was directed to park in a dark back alley that didn't feel safe. My room overlooked large garbage bins for the surrounding restaurants and they stunk. There was a large air vent outlet for a neighbouring office building which made a continuous loud roar that could not be shut out even when I closed the window. Tiny TV screen mounted high on the wall made it hard to watch. The only bed covering was a quilt with no sheet which was too hot, with nothing light to put on the bed on a warm night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jrt303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This was the second time we have stayed here very clean and comfortable with good service . In a very good position Bob and his family made us very welcome . Bit of a tight fit with the statesman but bob helped us out again he can call me Captain Hook anytime he wants . A very relaxing few days .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Remember when you used to check into hotel accommodation and got a warm and friendly welcome? I had almost forgotten what it was like until I met Bob. Not only was our 4 night stay a delight in a lovely renovated room with excellent housekeeping, but they went an extra mile when overseas visitors we were hosting were placed in appalling local accommodation (not by us!) and we moved them to Lygon Lodge at short notice. Bob and his his staff were extremely helpful.
Thankyou for making our stay such a pleasurable experience

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week and have to say great location right at Lygon st restaurant scene one street from trams 5 mins to city $150 per night great value for money. Smallish room but had kitchenette lounge and adequate bathroom, loved the location

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandwilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My Husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Lodge as it was his birthday, the owner gave as an lovely renovated room which was clean, with everything we needed and the kitchen was a plus. Check in was very easy and fuss free, staff are friendly, and the atmosphere is very laid back. The location sold me as the restaurant and cinema we went to were near by, and having hundreds of cafes and shops around was enjoyable with the local park having a festival on Sunday. We don't live far, but it was a very relaxing mini break and have re booked for the Melbourne cup period.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#63 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#87 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing