We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lygon Lodge Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lygon Lodge Carlton to your Saves list
Lygon Lodge Carlton
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Lygon Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week and have to say great location right at Lygon st restaurant scene one street from trams 5 mins to city $150 per night great value for money. Smallish room but had kitchenette lounge and adequate bathroom, loved the location

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandwilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My Husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Lodge as it was his birthday, the owner gave as an lovely renovated room which was clean, with everything we needed and the kitchen was a plus. Check in was very easy and fuss free, staff are friendly, and the atmosphere is very laid back. The location sold me as the restaurant and cinema we went to were near by, and having hundreds of cafes and shops around was enjoyable with the local park having a festival on Sunday. We don't live far, but it was a very relaxing mini break and have re booked for the Melbourne cup period.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

On the 13/10/12 me and my wife stayed in room 116 at the hotel for my wife's 25th birthday and the tap of the shower had fallen off and made it quite difficult to have a hot shower, and the toliet would not the flush - which become very embarring for both of us after a big night on the town,
We also found that the sugar with the coffee making facilites was half already used and a few of the power points and lights did not work.
We payed $150 for the nights stay and we are very disgusted that after discussing the issue with the manager all we were offered was a discounted stay next time - but there will not be a next time. I will taking this further as this not fair for us especially for my wife as it was for her birthday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
5 Thank Kchetcuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here as our Apartment was having repairs. Excellent location, clean/neat, modern accommodation, 24 reception and free off street parking is an real plus. Very rare to have the owner making you coffee in the morning, while having a chat/drink whilst watching the footy with staff in the evening. If you enjoy value, friendly, easy going service, with simple, well pointed rooms, than "We" are happy to recommend Lygon Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated Front rooms, great street atmosphere from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed at Lygon Lodge on each of my trips to Melbourne. The position of the hotel couldn't be better and really gives you the opportunity to get a taste of Melbourne life. I've stayed in a number of the Studio apartments at the hotel and each one is modern with all necessary amenities to make your stay an enjoyable one. As a family run business the hospitality of the hosts really stands this hotel apart from your big chains & often you'll find yourself sitting out the front having a meal or drinking a wine with them, which all adds to the Melbourne experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My partner and I are becoming regulars. The proprietors, Bob and Irma, are a delight. Anecdotes flow freely over a glass on the pavement.
Rooms are modern, and more than adequate for visitors who are there to explore the city.
Location cant be faulted. Park on site, and see Melbourne by public transport. Very handy for a tram stop, with a 'myki' shop across the road.
Carlton is renowned for it's eateries and coffee shops.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have never felt moved to write a review about an experience however my stay at Lygon lodge last week deserves to be heard of.

One night, Bob and Irma the proprietors, invited me to sit with them out the front of their hotel. Before i knew it, Bob's anecdotes had me and everyone in stitches. A man with 100 funny stories. throughout the night, beverages were offered along with some very tasty european entree dishes that Irma had prepared in their kitchen.

I found them to be a down to earth realistic couple, who are running a family business that has a genuine interest in keeping their customers happy. Most hotels have a clinical approach in that there receptionist is overly aware of being politically correct and or only do the minimum required, or is overly enthusiastic which leaves you with a fake kind of impersonal feeling. Bob and Irma are quite the opposite, genuine, straight forward which leaves you with that sense of moral values.

Rooms are freshly painted, carpeted and tiled. new tv, bed, shower. furniture looks new with a little kitchenette. Rooms have electric key swipe tags that you find in modern motels.
Fully enclosed undercover parking area.

Room Tip: simply ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy_Jay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#83 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#65 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing