We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lygon Lodge Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lygon Lodge Carlton to your Saves list
Lygon Lodge Carlton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Just a one night stay with my family. Room was renovated with a kitchenette but we did not use it due to the number of good restaurants in the area. Very clean and tidy, new carpet and furniture and newly renovated bathroom. Parking was a bit tight but it was secure. The only down side was the noise from busy Lygon street as our room was at the front of the building and it could do with a bigger tv. On the upside, the balcony was good and the place was really clean and tidy. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Will be staying again, next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
20
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The staff were welcoming and friendly on arrival. The rates for the room was excellent (given where this place is located). The room was clean and tidy and we made up each day with clean towels and linen etc. I will certainly be staying there when next in Melbourne...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Lygon Lodge is situated in the heart of italian district of Melbourne.Very good location - just 20 minutes on foot to the main places of interest - Federation Square, the market, Chinatown, Carlton gardens. Lots of cafes and restaurants around. Things I didn't like at all - awful view from the hotel's rooms (dirty backyard), no breakfast, the entrance to the lift to the rooms is from unguarded parking. The hotel is overpriced like mostly everything in Australia:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

Just had a great stay here, right in the heart of Lygon St and only two blocks from the tram. Beds were a little uncomfortable, but that might be just me. Staff were very friendly, room was clean an tidy though front of house could do with a lick of paint. A great alternative to right in the CBD and a fair bit cheaper too.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This place is overpriced. The good thing is the location, it´s right in the middle of Lygon St.
However rooms are very basic and you´re much better off staying at one of the other places in the area for not much more. Downtowner on Lygon was a better choice.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Looks like they are at the end of refurbsihments with a few minor things to complete in reception and hallways. Room was of good quality and clean as well. Looked like a new bathroom. Only paid $120 but quality of room was better than that.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

I booked here after looking at the website. When I arrived it didnt look anything like the site photos and the front desk staff were very unhelpful. The whole place was a building site. Like the others have said on here there were wires hanging from walls, peeling paint on the walls, it smelt and the furniture, walls and carpet were all old and dirty. I asked if they had another room as this wasnt a 3.5 star that they advertsied. The owner used more swear words than I care to report and ultimately said said he would bash me if I complained. I checked out and went to the Quest 500 meters up the road for $20 a night more. Dont stay here unless your on a very tight budget and can only afford $50 per night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lygon Lodge Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lygon Lodge Carlton

Address: 220 Lygon St. | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lygon Lodge Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lygon Lodge Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lygon Lodge Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.