We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Kong is over-rated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Regent Theatre

The Regent Theatre
191 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
03-9299 9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 160 Attractions in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The landmark Regent Theatre holds a key part in our city’s history since opening as a grand picture palace in 1929. Having survived a fire, a flood, 20 years in darkness and many threats of demolition, the venue reopened in August 1996, meticulously refurbished and returned to its breathtaking former glory.Today it stands more lavish and grand than ever and continues to host some of the world’s most renowned theatre productions.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“King Kong is over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

When we went on a Saturday afternoon, about one-third of the auditorium was empty, and occupants of the back seats were invited to move forward by four rows. The music was very ho-hum, and there was not a single catchy or memorable tune in the whole 2 1/2 hours performance. None of the singers was good, and their voices were amplified so loud that I had to plug my ears. We couldn't relate to anybody on stage, and almost couldn't care less about their emotions or stories, even when we could understand what they were saying. Having said all that, the pluses include amazing setting with imaginative use of lights, and disappearing panels on the floor. The dancers were alright. The only successful character and feature of the presentation was King Kong. While he cannot match the War Horse, he was alive enough with his growling, moving about, being shot at etc. I think we all sympathized with his demise, making him the only thing on stage that we empathized with. (But must the shooting be so intense and for so long? It was almost sadistic watching it.) So congratulations to the handlers. The War Horse, another performance with puppets on stage, was however an outstanding performance that one should see, and comparisons were inevitable. In conclusion, you would not miss much if you didn't see this. We rather regretted our money and our time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    88
    19
    9
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
533 reviews 533 reviews
312 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Wow, What a Beauty !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

When arriving at the theatre in Collins Street and picking up our tickets we had no idea of the amazing architecture that awaited, particularly the mix of many styles that exists in the foyer before reaching the auditorium itself. Very impressive and mind blowing. Any review of this theatre must be coloured by the stage presentation and we had gone to see King Kong a show that has yet to be seen in the UK and which will live long in our memory. The professionalism of the cast is striking. All Right, there are no really memorable songs but the stage presentation takes the breath away and the visit for that alone was worthwhile. However pride of place must go to the animatronic team who brought Kong to life. Thank you for a great evening.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“King Kong - Ordinary!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Have been to many musicals and left King Kong this afternoon disappointed. King Kong himself and the puppeteers were fabulous and the special effects were worth seeing, but the experience overall was very ordinary. I can't remember going to a show and not having some sort of connection with the lead characters. The storyline was weak and most of the performances limp. Hate to say it, but wouldn't go back if I had a free ticket.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Heritage beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A wonderful piece of history. Beautiful chandeliers and filligree. Makes one feel like royalty just being in such a place. The show KING KONG was fantastic, amazing performers and those guys who worked that huge KING KONG puppet were amazing. Certainly be back for another show next time I am in the city.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“King Kong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a beautiful old theatre and you feel like you have stepped back in time. We went to see King Kong and thoroughly enjoyed the show. We had seats just off to the side in cc which is just a few rows at the side from the stage. We had a great view and sounds from that spot along with the rumble beneath us when Kong roared. The puppeteers are just incredible with how they made this very large 'puppet' move and use expressions. There are showgirls in quite tiny outfits in the performance which may offend some and it is very loud so be aware of this if you are sensitive. King Kong was taken right to the front of the stage so people in Kong Class seats got a very up close view of him. The performance, lighting, stage, King Kong were all brilliant and we are glad we went along.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Regent Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Regent Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regent Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.