We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful theatre, necessary to book a tour in advance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Regent Theatre

The Regent Theatre
191 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
03-9299 9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 208 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The landmark Regent Theatre holds a key part in our city’s history since opening as a grand picture palace in 1929. Having survived a fire, a flood, 20 years in darkness and many threats of demolition, the venue reopened in August 1996, meticulously refurbished and returned to its breathtaking former glory.Today it stands more lavish and grand than ever and continues to host some of the world’s most renowned theatre productions.
Willingboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre, necessary to book a tour in advance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Because we ended up with an extra unplanned day in Melbourne, we didn't have a tour booked, so we only saw a bit of the theatre through the front entrance. If you know you're going to visit, contact them in advance and there's a volunteer who will take you on a tour of the theater. I wish this had been an option for us, because the parts of the theatre that we did see were stunning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    85
    19
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
273 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Interesting and historical theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Regent Theatre in Melbourne was part of the Regent Theatre Cinema chain in Australia. Other similar Regent theatres in Australia were either demolished or have undergone changes. This theatre also came close to being demolished but was saved by some concerned citizens. The outside is not really not much to look at but the interior has beenfully and magnificently restored in the Rococo style. It is now used mostly for live theatre rather than for films.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We saw Love Never Dies here and it was absolutely amazing! Even if the production itself weren't enough, the building itself is just so richly atmospheric I could've sat there quite happily for a long time just taking it all in. Felt like a step back in time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswick, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another great Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of Melbourne's finest theatres worth a visit and to see a performance there is an experience beautifully refurbished under a previous more enlightened state government, thanks guys you got this one right. Dump the Grand Prix (did I spell it rite ?).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just love this building I worked not far from it in collins street in 1980 and my friend Lois Webster was the lady that saved it from being pulled down thank God for Lois

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Regent Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Regent Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regent Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.