We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful English style gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzroy Gardens

Fitzroy Gardens
Wellington Parade and Clarendon Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
+61 3 9658 9658
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Fitzroy Gardens like an insider
Special Offer
$155*
and up
2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River...
Ranked #27 of 489 things to do in Melbourne
Attraction details
Patong, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful English style gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

So green, huge trees, wonderful with the autumn colours. Very peaceful gardens near the city centre. It is lovely being able to experience what I imagine a real English garden looks like with rich green lawns and the autumn trees.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    133
    19
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nathalia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A place to go and sit quietly surrounded by the beauty of nature, lovely walking paths and lots to see. An oasis in the middle of a busy city

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Autumn has sprung”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

These gardens are kept in pristine condition year round. At the moment the trees are starting to show their beautiful autumn colours. I work close by and visit many time during my lunch break. It is amazing to see the trees changing colours throughout the year, but especially in Autumn.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The essence of Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Melbourne is built around its gorgeous parks. Grand boulevards running past eden like spaces that invite you in and reward the curious with joyous discoveries. Forget your cares for a while in this fabulous park

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Night or day, it's a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton next door to the Gardens during the last weekend in April which was unusually warm. We decide to go to the Grand Hyatt for dinner and walked back through the gardens afterward. WOW! It was so nice with the city lights as a back drop and possoms running around through the grounds, we even saw an owl. We went back to the Hotel and got our camera so we could get some memories to take back home.
The next morning we went to the Pavillion in the Gardens to have breakfast and followed this up with a lovely stroll around in the daylight. There are so many little interesting corners to explore. Captains Cook Cottage is there if you want to go in (there is an entrance fee), we had been previously. And the Conservatorium with its beautiful flowers and ferns reminded me of Singapore.
Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzroy Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Fitzroy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzroy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.