We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzroy Gardens

Fitzroy Gardens
Wellington Parade and Clarendon Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
+61 3 9658 9658
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Fitzroy Gardens like an insider
Special Offer
$159*
and up
2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River...
Ranked #28 of 486 things to do in Melbourne
Attraction details
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“So much to enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

These gardens are a lovely space to wander, relax and enjoy. There is a fabulous playground and also interesting green spaces, ponds and gardens. Easy to access by tram ( numbers 96 or 86) or foot from the city.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    141
    20
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A lovely distraction in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

we had to walk through to get to Food and wine festival Long lunch. Fab location guys!!!. We had a great walk, look through conservatory and even managed to ask a staff member about the tree collars (to stop possums damaging old trees for those wondering). We dont always get time to walk in the garden but its was so relaxing to sit there in the shade for a while ( i would invest in some bins tho...paint em green!)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“A sentimental walk in the Gardens....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When visiting Melbourne in the 1980's, our family spent a fun afternoon in Fitzroy Gardens watching nearly a dozen wedding parties have their pictures taken. Finding ourselves with a spare few hours on the weekend, we headed to the Gardens to take a sentimental journey. The flowers in the Conservatory were magnificent. Cook's Cottage looks well looked after. The Fairy Tree and little village are still there. As were plenty of bridal parties that we enjoyed watching. Beautiful!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful, nice place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great spot for the family, I took the family there with my two younger kids and it was great. The playground is quite good. And the restaurant and gardens are beautiful. You can either eat at the restaurant or have a picnic in the gardens. We decided to eat in the restaurant but we could see many others have a picnic. The gardens are always maintained. Gorgeous place for adults, children or even couples .

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Timeless qualities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This old Victorian garden has a timeless quality to it. So close to the city, but so peaceful. It is very well maintained with lots of quaint little ponds, sculptures and enclosed lawns surrounded by ancient trees. The cafe, model village and fairy tree are really cute.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzroy Gardens also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Fitzroy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzroy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.