We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Court Boutique

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Court Boutique to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnolia Court Boutique
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Excellent location on a small budget was what we were after, and Magnolia Court delivered. The room was clean and tidy, bathroom fine. The service was professional. Breakfast included each day, and was lovely. The best thing was the location - we walked everywhere! I would definitely stay there again, but perhaps it's not for those wanting luxury.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    21
    22
    19
See reviews for
6
45
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

If only I had checked with Tripadvisor before I booked at tis hotel - the website had artfully disguised the monstrous concrete extension to the side of the building and I actually believed that I would be staying in a tasteful hotel. What a disappointment to arrive and find myself in a tiny, dark, cramped side room in the extension, with a sub standard bathroom with chipped tiles and a plastic shower curtain. It was straight out of the 50's and more boarding house than boutique hotel. I tried in vain to find alternative accommodation for my 4 night visit, but was unable to because of a Pro/Am golf tournament. Never again will I believe a website without checking it out thoroughly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Having read the other reviews I'm not sure whether this hotel has been recently upgraded or people's expectations are just way too high. This is one of the few hotels in inner city Melbourne that has rooms for less than $100 per night and includes breakfast. The location is brilliant - a 3 minute walk to the MCG and a brief 10 minute walk through the Fitzroy Gardens to the CBD. The staff were friendly and helped with directions and suggestions. The hotel itself is clean and the rooms, whilst on the small side (but really for less than $100 what do you expect - it's bigger than a hostel room and has an ensuite) were clean and airconditioned with a fridge, microwave and flat screen tv. And really, when you're visiting how much time are you going to spend in your room - if you're planning to spend the majority of your stay in your room, splash out on something more expensive! The included breakfast was absolutely fine - there was a variety of cereals, breads and juices. I didn't expect a hot breakfast (the booking said continental breakfast) but it was available and included baked beans, sausages, hash browns, pies and eggs. Yes the eggs were hardboiled but if they provided someone to cook the eggs differently and included things like mushrooms and tomatoes then it probably wouldn't be viable to provide it!! (and if the sausages aren't to your liking then don't eat them). If you're looking for that type of breakfast take a short walk and buy it in one of the many nearby cafes where they have staff that are trained to cook to your preference.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

While the hosts did their best and tried to be helpful they were let down, most likely by the owners lack of investment in the property. As reported in previous blogs the gardens were weed infested, "buffet" breakfast was fried cheap sausages, a few boiled eggs in their shells, a plate of cold baked beans and some stale looking party pies even my 17yo carnivore son would not eat (amazing) and some average cereals. TV's and Air cons need replacing. It could be so much better with some attention. Not as if it was cheap either.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I 100% recommend Magnolia Court. It is excellent value in a beautiful (& quiet) tree-lined street walking distance through lovely gardens to the city; or to shopping in Fitzroy. Breakfast was a in lovely sunlit dining room & was standard fare (toast, cereal etc, I'm vegan, so couldn't take advantage of the cooked breakfast). Staff were all very friendly, and on my last day went out of their way to book me on the Skybus to the airport at very short notice. The room was small, but in a cosy, not cluttered, sense; more than adequate to lay my head at the end of a long day of work & shopping.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

New definitions for your notebook:
boutique : tiny/minuscule rooms with a TV a little bigger than your mobile phone.
Buffet breakfast: a sausage!

This place is in a fantastic location in leafy East Melbourne. We walked to the MCG in the afternoon. Then walked to the movies in the CBD in the evening.

The room just fitted a standard double bed with room to walk around it. The TV was barely watchable from more than 10 feet. But it was clean.

Our deal included a buffet breakfast. This apparently means a continental breakfast and a sausage. Who wants a sausage without eggs/tomatoes/bacon. "Do you have eggs?" "No we have sausages!"

You will notice reviews have gone downhill since 07/08 The staffing is almost entirely Chinese (students??) They are polite and helpful but apparently unaware of a western buffet breakfast. (though we have had buffet breakfasts in China)

All in all it was ok for one night only.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and I was very disappointed. When we arrived our room was not ready and we had to sit in the reception area for half an hour and wait for our room to be made up. The room they gave us was tiny, you could practically reach across and touch both walls at the same time. As there was no free floor space, we had to put our bags on the window ledge. The bathroom was even smaller, and was old and outdated / felt grimy. When I turned on the taps there was hot water coming out of the both of the taps, so I brushed my teeth with hot water. I heard another guest complaining about the same problem so it wasnt just our room. The tv was tiny and ancient and up on a hinge on the wall. This hotel has been very cheaply decorated and needs a complete overhall. The telephone in our room wouldn't dial an outside line, so we asked the receptionist to come up and help, but he couldn't get it working either. The breakfast we had in the morning was bad too, they served juice from concentrate in small glasses and the weirdest sausages ive ever tasted. The only positive thing I can say this hotel is walking distance to the city, as promised. The other problem we had was parking...you cant park outside the hotel as you will get ticketed during the day. They have parking for about 3 cars around the back, but they will ask you for your car keys in case they need to move your car, which we didnt want to do. All around a very unpleasant stay. I can't believe they have the gall to say 'boutique' in the title, dont be fooled. Stay well clear of this place. It's more 1 star than 3 star.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Court Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.