We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Court Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Court Boutique to your Saves list
Magnolia Court Boutique
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Work is cutting costs and nervously I was asked to try this new Melbourne accommodation option. I read the reviews and did arrive with a concerned mind - for the price something must be wrong. From the minute I arrived I felt a spence of warmth and comfort. The staff are lovely and very helpful. My room is spacious with a comfy double bed, wardrobe and large screen tv. In an adjoining room is a desk an couch and nice size bathroom. Yes there is cracked paint, but the room is clean and tastefully decorated. The shower is in the bath but forgiven as it is a great shower. I know however my eighty plus mother would struggle climbing in and out of the deep bath to have a shower. There are plenty of power points, and windows, and great heating. I have enjoyed the supplied breakfast, especially as it includes muesli, lovely fruit, and Greek yoghurt. Hot food is also available. I love walking down the staircase and looking at the beautiful stained glass doors and enjoyng the surrounding lavender outside of the dining room windows. Walking distance to all Melbourne an offer. This is a quaint lovely boutique hotel certainly well worth the cost.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    32
    25
    22
See reviews for
10
55
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We don't like large impersonal hotels and Magnolia Court suted us very well. It is close to the city and near the gardens. We used the tram a lot in Melbourne, which is recommended for everyone. There is a free one too around the city center. Eureka tower was exciting too. The staff at the hotel were friendly and gave us good advise.

Room Tip: At the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent staff from the front desk to the breakfast staff. Breakfast very well catered for with a great range of offerings both hot and cold and served in a very pleasant room. However the room had scratched paint work in a number of places, several broken tiles in bathroom and generally felt run down. I arrrived when the rooms were being cleaned and I could see into a number of rooms which all seemed to be well painted and more welcoming than mine. However a plus was that my room was ready when I arrived at about 9.15am and I could settle in straight away. It was a convenient distance to the tram and train.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Ok, this is the oldest building in East Melbourne, and was a girls finishing school in the past with extensions to cater for the volume of guest increased to melbourne for the 1956 Olympics. There have been a number of review that rave about the hotel, however all are over 10 years old. Seeing the hotel for what it was and how it is portrayed in the review it can been seen. However, and there always is.

Today, after over hearing conversations the building is owned by one party the hotel business by another and by the sounds of it with not very clear terms of the lease. So what does this mean? Well the hotel has obviously gone though a number of business owners since the 10 year old + reviews, and it seems that fitting and fixture are an area of dispute, such as minor repairs that are needed. Example are window latchs with screws missing, door knobs half hanging off, taps with the hot and cold symbol caps missing. multiple light bulbs blown and not replaced. The next point is this is a hertiage building set up to give an old world experience, the business owners seem to miss the point. For example our bed had a Hummer H3 bed spread on it, nothing wrong with hummer but on a bed spread in a Victorian era building come on. Other points, such as we were here in the heart of winter, no electric blanket on the beds, just little things. Which is really a shame, this place because of its location is handy to Melbourne CBD a stroll through the parkland or a short tram ride.

I think management here really need to understand they are in the hospitality industry and if they want to call themselves boutique need to take responsibility for their business and address the fundamentals. If the staff are letting things slip to customer then it is high time management to their business seriously. I would recommend staying here but only just it could be a whole lot more...

All the best
I&I

Room Tip: Breakfast is continental style. Don't expect a lavish spread. No fitness Centre, no swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is an ideal spot to visit the city whilst being out of the hustle and bustle.
The staff are really accommodating, we arrived 90 minutes before check in time.
The check in clerk made a call to housekeeping and within 10 minutes we we in our room.
The breakfast room is nice and quiet and a cooked breakfast is included in the tariff.
It is a quiet neighborhood yet 5 minutes walk from the MCG and 10 minutes from the CBD.
This room tariff is cheaper than getting a parking fine during game day !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room provided, it was vey quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in March as a base to explore the Melbourne area and so I could go the the first F1 race of the season. Added bonus was Jenson won!! Located in a quiet residential street yet only a few minutes walk through a lovely park area to reach the centre of town. Only drawback was very limited free parking behind the hotel, if you arrive late then on-street parking is available via meters. Owned and run by an asian family who do their best to make your stay comfortable. Comfortable bed but rather dated decor in the bedrooms, however everything was clean and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan Juc
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This little hotel is great value when you consider the location and generous breakfast. The free parking is also a bonus, so close to the MCG and the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.5 mi away
Mantra on Jolimont
Mantra on Jolimont
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
0.2 mi away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#123 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#126 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Boutique

Address: 101 Powlett St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Court Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Magnolia Court Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Court Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Magnolia Court Boutique East Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Court Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.