We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Chose this hotel on the back of the tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The location is perfect alongside the river with an easy walk to the railway station. The accomodation is relatively basic but clean and comfortable and the breakfast is good. Staff are efficient. Depending on your budget I would recommend this as a relatively low cost city centre hotel

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PQrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I had to book one night in the city to catch some sleep before a flight. I found an amazing deal with these guys and - not expecting much - checked in. In the UK, it'd have to be a reasonably dire situation to choose to book a Travelodge (!) but I was genuinely surprised by this one (totally separate chain, I know). Great location, really clean rooms, spacious bathrooms and super-friendly (even by Victorian standards!) staff. A great crash pad :-)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craiglegrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We booked into the Travelodge for 8 nights based soley on the reviews on TripAdvisor. When previously visiting Melbourne we leaned towards the City Hotels but we were persuaded to try out the relatively new (for Melbourne) Southbank Precinct. Southbank is literally the southern side of the Yarra River which travels east/west at this point. The Travelodge itself is about 150 metres from the banks of the Yarra River. The nearest connection by foot to the city is via a pedestrian bridge over the river just down from the hotel. All in all it takes about 5 mins from leaving the hotel till you get to Flinders Street Railway Station on the other (North) side of the river. Elizabeth Street and the city starts here. All along the southern bank you wou will discover dozens of great eateries to suit every traste and pocket. An easy 500 metre stroll west gets you to the "Crown Casino", itself a fascinating and popular place. The Travelodge itself is right next to the attractive "Eureka Skywalk" building. The lift will give you the quickest ride ever to level 88 (tallest in the Southern Hemisphere) where you will enjoy the best views of Melbourne and surrounds. If feeling daring enter the glass bottom capsule and enjoy the vertical view looking straight down.

Now the Travelodge itself is interesting in that unlike the usual hotel it does not have bars or a disco, nor does it provide any other meals apart from breakfast. Guests benefit in that all entertainment is external to the hotel leaving it a comfortable place to retire home to. Every type of entertainment is provided throughout the Southbank area. We booked well in advance on TripAdvisor. There is some variation in Travelodge room price on certain nights and duration of stay. We chose a room described as a 'Queen Deluxe' at a rate of $186 per night with no breakfast inclusion. We were on the 7th floor via a very effecient lift service from the lobby. Check in was easy and the staff friendly. Our room had a view to the south across other buildings. Room size was quite adequate and furnished with bed, table and chairs, lounge chair, flat screen tv, small kitchenette, sink, microwave, bar fridge and usual coffee/tea making facilities. Iron and ironing board supplied, usual bathroom and wc configuration. Water pressure was poor but adequate. Best of all everything was in good condition and clean! Internet connection is available to rooms and there are screens in an area off the lobby - sorry - make own enquiries re costs. I paid $18 for a full cooked breakfast buffet and it had all the usual hot items you would expect plus cereals, juices etc. Given that you can return for seconds makes it difficult to beat. Alas - in keeping with buffet trends internationally the only eggs are scrambled. Serious caffeine hounds may prefer something stronger. Simply exit foyer, turn left and walk 30 paces to the 'G4' coffee shop open for breakfast all day - well staffed and friendly plus great coffee! For a good choice at lunch time try the Southbank building for probably the best food hall in town. Exit foyer, turn right and continue up the street past the Langholme? Hotel, ascend the steps you can easily see from the foyer and find your way in. Spotlessly clean and well priced. For dedicated Curry Lovers try the 'Flora Indian Restaurant' in Flinders Street opposite the Flinders Railway Station. Simply stroll over the foot bridge (described above) onto Flinders St, turn right and 200 metres up on the opposite (north) side you will find it. Buffet style everything Indian. Check out the local Indian patronage to verify authenticity. An enjoyable experience at very affordable prices.

Loads of parking at 'Wilson Parking' next door if travelling by car. Having said that you do not need a car around the city to the majority of points of interest during the day, tourists get to use Free set bus and Tram routes courtesy of the City of Melbourne. There is a taxi rank at the front door. There is a 24 hour convenience store around the corner from the hotel (exit foyer, turn right ands right again - it has everything you will need including an ATM).

There are coin operated laundries on the 3rd and 8th floor (only been to the 8th floor one - all good). On our day of leaving we arranged a no problem 11am book out and we could leave our bags in storage till later that day.

Overall a good experience and I really cannot think of any negatives.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed here 3 times several nights in a month, while we were travelling through Australia. It was the perfect hotel for moving about Melbourne, but also to come back after a trip with a 4x4 through the outback. We always returned to a hotel that never disappointed. The rooms were clean and were much value for money. The staff was friendly and the hotel was in a perfect location. We even could use the washing machine, as we travelled for a month and needed to do some washing halfway.

The only thing we noticed, was that the breakfast was pricy and not that good. The good thing is, that the hotel is near the river, where you can find many places to have a affordable and very nice breakfast. I would recommend doing this to everyone wanting to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Melbourne's Southbank has been revitalised in recent times, and is an excellent jumping-off point for enjoying the sights and sounds of this wonderful city. The Travelodge is ideally located just behind the Southgate precinct, within easy walking distance of Flinders St Station and the CBD. It may not have a swimming pool, and a gym etc. but its rooms are clean, well serviced, and very affordable. Plus it may have been the quietest hotel we have ever stayed in, guaranteeing a good night's sleep every night. The staff were helpful and efficient, and parking was easily obtained nearby for $12 a day (concession rate for Travelodge residents) - try finding parking in Sydney for anywhere near that price! We would stay there again in a heartbeat, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithelen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I stayed here for a few nights with my partner and was really happy with the whole experience. The rooms were neat and tidy and the location of the hotel was fantastic !! we had a vehicle with us and got validated parking through the hotel. Definitely book online as we saved $30 per night by booking online - the only down side with the online booking system is that you can't put more than one booking in therefore you have to charge your credit card each time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dc_globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel for total rate of 216 aud (without breakfast). Location is quite convenient. Less than 10 mins walk to the CBD and 5 mints to Flinder street station. Rooms are spacious and clean enough. No frills nothing special, but convenient. True, the guys at the reception wouldn't be my first choice for going for a drink but they are helpful enough.
At the rate I booked I would say good value for money.
D.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
#46 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,311 reviews
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,847 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#48 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,348 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing