We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need to explore.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just what you need to explore.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Travelodge a great place to stay to spend the day exploring. It is in a central location walking distance to everything you need, like Flinders Street Station, CBD, and the Crown Complex. We were over for the Grand Prix staff were very helpful as to which tram to get on. Clean and simple apartment.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    1,192
    328
    75
    27
See reviews for
400
993
201
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Good value for money and great central location. Staff are helpful and friendly and breakfast was good with lots of choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There are lots if restaurants nearby and also crown complex

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in February.

We arrived at the hotel around 9.30am after an overnight flight from Singapore. We were tired and cold and really appreciated the guy on reception doing all that he could to find us a room to check in early so that we didn't need to wait until mid-afternoon to check in. Given that we were only in Melbourne for 3 days this made all the difference to our holiday.

The room was modern, had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. The room was also quiet and we weren't disturbed by noises from the city, lifts or other guests.

The location of this hotel was perfect - easy walk to the main city centre but also lots of restaurants right near the hotel.
This hotel comes well recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear likesholidays_10,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

i had to stay three days right now in this hotel.i had the plumbers in my home just around the corner and wanted to stay far away from them :) this hotel is a good price for my beloved melbourne. i was a bit disappointed though because neither rooms nor the hallways were very clean.the room's size is okay, the tv has all the prgrammes you ight need,or not :) and the location just across from the trains and 5 mts from the eureka tower is unrivalled.i think the guys at the reception are simply to few to handle all the guests and that the management is too stingy to employ more staff. i had no breakfast,but what i saw looked not very healthy...not my cup of tea. it is okay for someone who just sleeps there and then minds his business.the furniture is cheap ikea style and not very desirable for any better taste but well survivable in a city as expensive as ours. i would call it a solid 3 star place.better than a hostel ,worse than a hilton....no surprises if ypu get it for like 80 aud.
have fun mates !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear FRANK C,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I am sorry to read that some aspects were not up to your expected standard

I was concerned to hear you feel our breakfast didn't look healthy, we have a range of cereal's, fruits, breads, juices, low fat yogurt and bircher muesli, along with having no deep fried food on our hot buffet. We are sure this offers a great range of healthy options

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times during our visit to Melbourne in Feb. The location is great but that is the best thing going for it. Rooms were fine, good space but little clothes storage. Staff were just alright. On our second visit they couldn't find our reservation on their system but their attitude wasn't great in dealing with the situation - which was a fault on their system!

Don't be fooled by the offer of 15 mins free foyer wifi - it lasts about 2 mins or less!
Paid wifi is the most expensive we have ever seen (and we spent a week in Sydney!!) $20 a day!! Really old computers in foyer for paid broadband - don't bother - more frustrating than anything.
Free wifi is available in the local Southgate mall but is patchy.

Overall - terrible wifi provision, very average customer service and expensive for quality of hotel.

We will not recommend the hotel to friends and would not stay here again as in these days of travelling we find Internet Access a necessity not a luxury!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Susan F,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank, we appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments.

We are constantly working with our internet provider to improve value for our guests and are disappointed that you were not able to take full advantage of the complimentary WIFI available in the lobby.

We will pass on your feedback to our internet provider and hope the extremely competitive rates, such as our $99 special you were able to book, can compensate slightly

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is located in the pleasant Southbank area of the CBD and only minutes walk over the river to the CBD itself. The rooms are very adequate and the king bed very comfortable. Staff were helpful and the price represented very good value for a cbd hotel
I would think it best not to have a car as here didn't appear to ba anywhere to put one except in an adjacent parking building which might be costly

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear CliveP-T,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and our great location . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Travelodge Southbank is the perfect place to base your Melbourne holiday: It's located in the central city right behind the long strip of restaurants on the south bank of Melbourne's river and is an easy four-minute walk to the north bank and the shopping centre, but because it's not on a main road (in fact it's in a low-speed precinct) the traffic noise is unnoticeable. The staff are very helpful as well, and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Kiwi A,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Toga Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.