We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated for The Southbank. It is in easy walking distance of all shops, bars and restaurants. It is right next door to the Eureka tower. Rooms were spacious and good value for money, not The Ritz, but we didn't pay Ritz prices! Staff were helpful, but breakfast left a lot to be desired and there are plenty of other places around. We stayed for 5 nights and had 2 rooms, as we were visiting relations, and all the amenities are there, including a laundry, which when travelling is great.

All in all a good stay, would recommend if on a budget.

Room Tip: Eureka tower side is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Gill W,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I have passed on your feedback regarding breakfast to the team, so we can strive to improve. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy the recent additions to the buffet on your next visit

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    746
    226
    54
    19
See reviews for
221
598
134
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Arrived very early after a long flight from the UK. After trying hard Katie (?) came up with a room that was free. At 0900. Now THAT is service. Could shower, rest and recover. Thanks so much.

Rest of the stay was fine - comfortable bed, cool AC and quiet.

No fuss, great value. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Andrew P,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

When I first started looking for hotels in Melbourne I thought I would need to stay in the suburbs because of the tariffs. However, thanks to trip advisor this hotel came within budget and proved to be the perfect location. Close to Melbourne's great galleries, close to Degrave Lane where you can feel the buzz of the city, near the Yarra for early morning walks and no complaints at all about the hotel. Great service, clean rooms.m perfect for our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on 10th floor and that was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Robby W,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

It almost sounds like you enjoyed the location more than we do!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Huge room with very good curtains, we had an excellent night sleep. Bathroom was very simple though and had some mould. Location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. Staff was very friendly. Free safe at reception, but unfortunately internet in the room is pretty expensive (but we found that to be the case all over Australia really). Overall we had a good 2-night stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Si73,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are constantly working with our internet provider to improve value for our guests and hope that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary WIFI available in the lobby.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

As a hotel located in Southbank, of course one staying there will be close to everything. The friendliness from the front desk was up there with the best. I wanted to explore Melbourne on my stay. I asked a question and they gave me directions, tram numbers and tips on where to eat. True local knowledge leading to great experiences. Super comfortable beds too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear soniabrauer,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments.

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed our brand new beds and that you received the level of service that we expect of the Travelodge Team.

I will definitely be using this feedback as an example in our next team meeting to show what impact they can have on guests

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel has an excellent location. It is close to the South Bank eating and entertainment complexes but is not exposed to the noise levels which might be expected.
It is only a five minute walk across the river from Flinders Street which puts you in the heart of the city centre.
It was only about 20 minutes walk to the MCG (via traffic free walkways). It is equally convenient for all the sport venues in the city.
It was a similar distance to the Botanic Gardens on the fringe of the city centre.
The room was comfortable and clean and the air con was efficient without being obtrusive.
The guest laundry facility was welcome.
My only disappointment was the kitchenette. On reflection I perhaps expected more than was promised but would have appreciated more utensils and a hot plate to supplement the microwave, but as I had some such items with me this was not an insuperable issue.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again if visiting Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 'Skydeck' side-it is away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear KBofLB,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I would highly recommend our Adina apartment properties if you are ever looking for a fully functional kitchen within your room in the future

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited Melbourne on a kid free basis this time. We bought the hotel through Qantas holidays as part of an Aust Open package. Room was clean and tidy. LOCATION was excellent. Right next to Southgate, walkmto Casino and DFO. We walked to Rod Laver Arena easily and would recommend a stay here for any major event.

Room Tip: We had a room on level 1 so didnt get much of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear TravellingRandoman,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Unfortunately we are unable to provide any views at the hotel , due to the surrounding high-rises, including the highest residential building in the southern hemisphere, the Eureka Tower. Well worth a trip up to the Edge!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.