We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

As a hotel located in Southbank, of course one staying there will be close to everything. The friendliness from the front desk was up there with the best. I wanted to explore Melbourne on my stay. I asked a question and they gave me directions, tram numbers and tips on where to eat. True local knowledge leading to great experiences. Super comfortable beds too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear soniabrauer,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments.

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed our brand new beds and that you received the level of service that we expect of the Travelodge Team.

I will definitely be using this feedback as an example in our next team meeting to show what impact they can have on guests

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    705
    214
    50
    19
See reviews for
205
581
129
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel has an excellent location. It is close to the South Bank eating and entertainment complexes but is not exposed to the noise levels which might be expected.
It is only a five minute walk across the river from Flinders Street which puts you in the heart of the city centre.
It was only about 20 minutes walk to the MCG (via traffic free walkways). It is equally convenient for all the sport venues in the city.
It was a similar distance to the Botanic Gardens on the fringe of the city centre.
The room was comfortable and clean and the air con was efficient without being obtrusive.
The guest laundry facility was welcome.
My only disappointment was the kitchenette. On reflection I perhaps expected more than was promised but would have appreciated more utensils and a hot plate to supplement the microwave, but as I had some such items with me this was not an insuperable issue.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again if visiting Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 'Skydeck' side-it is away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear KBofLB,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I would highly recommend our Adina apartment properties if you are ever looking for a fully functional kitchen within your room in the future

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited Melbourne on a kid free basis this time. We bought the hotel through Qantas holidays as part of an Aust Open package. Room was clean and tidy. LOCATION was excellent. Right next to Southgate, walkmto Casino and DFO. We walked to Rod Laver Arena easily and would recommend a stay here for any major event.

Room Tip: We had a room on level 1 so didnt get much of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear TravellingRandoman,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Unfortunately we are unable to provide any views at the hotel , due to the surrounding high-rises, including the highest residential building in the southern hemisphere, the Eureka Tower. Well worth a trip up to the Edge!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Superb location to explore Melbourne. Walking distance to the Flinders street station which is the hub for Tram connections. Next door to the eureka sky deck. It's a good value for money. It's a definite recommend from me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear VVinoo_rai,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas for the cricket at MCG.The hotel is in a fantastic location for Southgate centre,Flinders St station,Crown Entertainment Complex and many more of Melbourne delights.
We arrived early in the morning and our room was ready which after a long flight was much appreciated.
The reception staff were very polite and helpful especially Amy and Claire.Their knowledge of the local area and trains were fab and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We found the rooms to be clean,spacious,well appointed and always had plenty of towels!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Fiona C,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments and for coming back and giving Travelodge Southbank another go.

Glad you enjoyed your trip and good luck in the next Ashes series! (you may need all the luck you can get!). We hope to see you on the next tour down under

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a find! What a location! what a price! This hotel has everything going for it. It is situation 50 yards from the main Southbank and although it does not offer its own restaurant (except for breakfast) it is linked to one nearby where you can charge items back to your room. The rooms are very comfortable and in addition to the fridge (which every hotel in Australia has) it has a microwave a kitchen sink and ample crockery and cutlery for a DIY snack in your room, The hotel has two guest laundries and an iron and iron board in the room. I spent four very comfortable nights here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Thatrealaleman,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and
thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are glad to hear you made use of our local restaurant chargeback service, we are always glad to hear our neighbours take good care of our guests

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stay here for the Austrlain Open 2014 & its in the perfect spot for everything. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was good, WIFI good & the rooms are good. It was just me & my 2 kids (11 & 7) & we had plenty of room. Beds were very comfortable & had a lovely view from our window (11th floor).
Travelodge provide each day, the scheldule of play, cold, ice, lemon water & sunblock. These little touches really help with the hot days we experience.
Checking in & out was done with ease & also booking the Skybus for hotel pickup.
Location is perfect as its a 5-10 min walk to Flinders St station/Elizabeth St to catch the (free) tram to the tennis.
Plenty of places to eat at Southgate. We chose a different eatery very night & was not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear gwombles,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear your family enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.