We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tidy room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, tidy room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited Melbourne on a kid free basis this time. We bought the hotel through Qantas holidays as part of an Aust Open package. Room was clean and tidy. LOCATION was excellent. Right next to Southgate, walkmto Casino and DFO. We walked to Rod Laver Arena easily and would recommend a stay here for any major event.

Room Tip: We had a room on level 1 so didnt get much of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear TravellingRandoman,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Unfortunately we are unable to provide any views at the hotel , due to the surrounding high-rises, including the highest residential building in the southern hemisphere, the Eureka Tower. Well worth a trip up to the Edge!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    900
    264
    62
    23
See reviews for
273
708
162
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Superb location to explore Melbourne. Walking distance to the Flinders street station which is the hub for Tram connections. Next door to the eureka sky deck. It's a good value for money. It's a definite recommend from me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear VVinoo_rai,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas for the cricket at MCG.The hotel is in a fantastic location for Southgate centre,Flinders St station,Crown Entertainment Complex and many more of Melbourne delights.
We arrived early in the morning and our room was ready which after a long flight was much appreciated.
The reception staff were very polite and helpful especially Amy and Claire.Their knowledge of the local area and trains were fab and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We found the rooms to be clean,spacious,well appointed and always had plenty of towels!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Fiona C,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments and for coming back and giving Travelodge Southbank another go.

Glad you enjoyed your trip and good luck in the next Ashes series! (you may need all the luck you can get!). We hope to see you on the next tour down under

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a find! What a location! what a price! This hotel has everything going for it. It is situation 50 yards from the main Southbank and although it does not offer its own restaurant (except for breakfast) it is linked to one nearby where you can charge items back to your room. The rooms are very comfortable and in addition to the fridge (which every hotel in Australia has) it has a microwave a kitchen sink and ample crockery and cutlery for a DIY snack in your room, The hotel has two guest laundries and an iron and iron board in the room. I spent four very comfortable nights here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Thatrealaleman,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and
thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are glad to hear you made use of our local restaurant chargeback service, we are always glad to hear our neighbours take good care of our guests

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stay here for the Austrlain Open 2014 & its in the perfect spot for everything. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was good, WIFI good & the rooms are good. It was just me & my 2 kids (11 & 7) & we had plenty of room. Beds were very comfortable & had a lovely view from our window (11th floor).
Travelodge provide each day, the scheldule of play, cold, ice, lemon water & sunblock. These little touches really help with the hot days we experience.
Checking in & out was done with ease & also booking the Skybus for hotel pickup.
Location is perfect as its a 5-10 min walk to Flinders St station/Elizabeth St to catch the (free) tram to the tennis.
Plenty of places to eat at Southgate. We chose a different eatery very night & was not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear gwombles,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear your family enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the Australian Open tennis and couldn't fault the service, room or location. As a reasonably priced hotel it ticked all the boxes - spacious room, excellent helpful, friendly staff and fantastic location. A nice touch having each days tennis draw, cold drinking water and sunscreen in the foyer to make the stay a little more welcoming. Our room was great, had a comfortable bed and allowed us to spread out and relax on the sofa after a long (hot) day of tennis. As experienced local and international travellers we found this hotel a real gem in the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear coleclassic,

What fabulous feedback! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive comments!

We are glad our tennis table/display was such a hit with yourselves, as with many guests during the period. Its fantastic to receive some recognition for something so little

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and the New Year and it was a great base for our Ashes trip. The location is excellent. The Melbourne cricket ground is within walking distance, as is the CBD, and Federation Square. Just round the corner from the hotel there are numerous restaurants and bars of various prices along the Southbank. The hotel does breakfast but not lunch or dinner. Our room was clean and comfortable and a decent size. Personally I would have preferred an openable window. Even in an 11 storey hotel it should be possible to open the window a tad for some fresh air. I have a few niggles which annoyed me. There was no free Wi-Fi. Most of the places we stayed on our 6 week Australia trio offered free Wi-Fi; here it was quite expensive even in the lobby. On Christmas Day and Boxing Day the rooms weren't made up. The management said it was in the interests of the environment. How? Clearly it was to enable the hotel to operate on a skeleton staff; that's OK, so why not be honest about it. When we checked out they tried to bill us in sterling and a poor exchange rate. I had to insist on paying in Australian dollars. This smacks slightly of sharp practice and left us feeling slightly unhappy. Otherwise it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear dianaen,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, however disappointed we managed to disrupt your stay with minor niggles

I have reminded my front office team that paying in foreign currency is an option for guests and should be left entirely at the guests discretion

We hope you were able to make use of your 15 minutes free WIFI internet in the lobby each day

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Toga Hotels, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.