We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wise choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wise choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights to enjoy what Melbourne city have to offer. The location was perfect, a small walk to many restaurants and bars, the sky tower, the river and a taxi rank right at the door. The 7/11 is just around the corner if needed.

The reception area is roomy with very pleasant staff, and a hassle free check in. Our room was on the 2nd floor. We found it to satisfy all our needs, although the lack of a top sheet on the bed was amusing. My only hiccup was not realizing that placing the "Eco" card on your pillow meant that your room does not get serviced at all, rather than not replacing sheets or towels. This was no big deal though. The room was clean to our liking.

We ate breakfast at the buffet all 3 mornings and were happy with the meals and service. There was a range of cereals, fruit, pastries and the usual scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, tomato etc. Even when arriving 30 minutes before closing, there was still a plenty of range. A good hearty meal at a good rate.

Our check out was swift and the free luggage holding was appreciated. All in all, was a great stay and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Bin5150,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Thank you for your comments regarding the top sheet, it is something we often consider, however often find that most people. For future guests reference, simply call our team at any time and we can have one added. The "green clean" also results in a basic service, we wont change bedding or towels to reduce our green house gas emission

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    744
    226
    53
    19
See reviews for
221
598
134
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed on the3rd Jan for my hubby's b/day, We have been there before also the Docklands one ,The reception area very good ,and they will accomadate any thing for you. Parking a bit tricky for out of towners,but we love it.

Room Tip: Don't panic if you can't find a park to book in. It will work out
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Popp773,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Being from the UK, I expected this Travelodge to be the same as a UK Travelodge. How very wrong I was! This hotel was absolutely fantastic. We had a twin room and both beds were really comfy, the room was really big and the bathroom was brilliant with a huge walk in shower. We stayed on a Friday & Saturday night but the room was so quiet we never heard a thing, inside or outside the hotel. The location of the hotel is brilliant as well, right by all the bars and restaurants along the Yarra River but also an easy walk into the centre of Melbourne. I'd definitely stay here again. I think it's suitable for friends, couples or families.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Simm5,


Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments. The team are so happy to read that you had an enjoyable time during your recent stay.

Kind Regards

Toby Colgrave Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

location could be tricky for out of towners as nestled "behind" the scene but close to eateries, 7-11 and eureka sky tower. public transport a slight but pleasant walk along or over the river. staff smiled each time we passed or left in a low key almost institutional foyer. our room on the 7th floor offered not view and was compact. typical hotel colour schemes but clean enough. bed comfortble though we did not some minor but perminent stains on sheets (not ours!), but didnt bring to desks' attention as last day and too tired. water pressure fine but only a shower curtain and bathroom tended to flood. never noticed any corridor traffic nor ate here as too many options about including the near by excellent Melba buffet. for the price it was fine but a little meh for a couple's getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear joancollins69,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments and we hope you continue to choose Travelodge hotels in the future

Kind Regards

Toby Colgrave
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel rooms are standard chain fare, the airconditioning is a bit loud and laboured but OK. The only odd thing was the bed only had a duvet in summer with no top sheet. I asked for a sheet and was promptly given one by one of the maids. The breakfast is also standard chain but reasonably priced, you would be better off going into the city or the cafe next door.

In terms of location it is near to the National Gallery and the Arts Centre and a short walk across one of the bridges to Flinders st station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sue_B_2004,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments and we do hope you choose to return to Travelodge Southbank in future

Kind Regards

Toby Colgrave
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I booked into this hotel via Hotels.com and included Breakfast. Our stay was for 5 nights. The location was excellent as the hotel is on block back from the yarra and south walk. Which has every thing you need Bars and Dinning.
The staff were very helpful and the breakfast variaty was good.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Paul N,

The team here at the hotel are glad to hear your enjoyed your recent stay and made good use of the location during the new years festivities

Don't forget our own website has best price guarantee, without the booking fees involved for future stays at our Travelodge hotels

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

Toby Colgrave I Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We checked in on New Year's Eve very nice desk staff, then it all went down hill got to our room only to find it occupied, when we got back to desk they offered us a refund. Our second room we opened the door only to find it not made up, third time lucky. The bed was comfy but room outdated. The next morning went to make a coffee kettle didn't work don't think we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Heather2014,

It was quite disappointing for us to have your stay disrupted twice with in a short time at the hotel and please be rest assured we find this to be an aberration of our usual high standards

I have addressed both issues with the team involved to ensure it doesn't happen again and will be discussing the issues in our next team meeting

Please contact myself directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss further or should you decide that you would like to return, as I am positive your next stay would be a positive stay

Kind Regards

Toby Colgrave I Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.